The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Richmond, Virginia
including Manchester
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Richmond, 1782-2006 (may be incomplete!)
William Foushee 1782-83 John Beckley 1783-84 Robert Mitchell 1784-85 John Harvie 1785-86 William Pennock 1786-87 Richard Adams, Sr. 1787-88 John Beckley 1788-89 Alexander McRobert 1789-90 Robert Boyd 1790 George Nicolson 1790 Robert Mitchell 1790-91 John Barrett 1791-92 Robert Mitchell 1792-93 John Barrett 1793-94 Robert Mitchell 1794-95 Andrew Dunscomb 1795-96 Robert Mitchell 1796-97 James McClurg 1797-98 John Barrett 1798-99 George Nicolson 1799-1800 James McClurg 1800-01 William Richardson 1801-02 John Foster 1802-03 James McClurg 1803-04 Robert Mitchell 1804-05 William Duval 1805-06 Edward Carrington 1806-07 William Richardson 1807-08 David Bullock 1808-09 Edward Carrington 1809-10 David Bullock 1810-11 Benjamin Tate 1811-12 Thomas Wilson 1812-13 Robert Greenhow 1813-14 Thomas Wilson 1814-15 Robert Gamble 1815-16 Thomas Wilson 1816-17 William H. Fitzwhylson 1817-18 Thomas Wilson 1818 Francis Wirker 1818-19 John Adams 1819-26 Joseph Tate 1826-39 Francis Wirker 1839-40 William Lambert 1840-53 Samuel Pulliam 1853 Joseph Carrington Mayo 1853-65 David J. Saunders 1865-66 Joseph Carrington Mayo 1866-68 George Chahoon 1868-70 Henry K. Ellyson 1870-71 Anthony M. Keiley 1871-76 William Cornelius Carrington 1876-88 J. Taylor Ellyson 1888-94 Richard M. Taylor 1894-1904 Carlton McCarthy 1904-08 David C. Richardson 1908-12 George Ainslie 1912-24 J. Fulmer Bright 1924-40 Gordon B. Ambler 1940-44 William C. Herbert 1944-46 Horace H. Edwards 1946-48 W. Stirling King 1948-50 T. Nelson Parker 1950-52 Edward E. Haddock 1952-54 Thomas P. Bryan 1954-56 F. Henry Garber 1956-58 A. Scott Anderson 1958-60 Claude Woodward 1960-62 Eleanor P. Sheppard 1962-64 Morrill Crowe 1964-68 Phil J. Bagley, Jr. 1968-70 Thomas J. Bliley, Jr. 1970-77 Henry L. Marsh 1977-82 Roy West 1982-88 Geline B. Williams 1988-90 Walter T. Kenney 1990-94 Leonidas Young 1994-96 Larry E. Chavis 1996-98 Tim Kaine 1998-2001 Rudolph C. McCollum, Jr. 2001-05 L. Douglas Wilder 2005-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1789 Mar 9: John Beckley, resigned.
  • 1790 Mar 8: Alexander McRobert, resigned.
  • 1790 Dec 13: George Nicolson, resigned.
  • 1818 Sep 21: Thomas Wilson, died in office.
  • 1839 May 8: Joseph Tate, died in office.
  • 1853 Mar 24: William Lambert, died in office.
  • 1865: N. A. Sturdevant, elected, but never took office.
  • 1940: J. Fulmer Bright, defeated.
  • 1977: Henry L. Marsh, elected.

    Postmasters at Richmond, 1782-1978 (may be incomplete!)
    James Hayes 1782-86 Augustine Davis 1786-1802 Marks Vandervoll 1802-08 William Foushee 1808-24 James P. Preston 1824-37 William H. Roane 1837 Claiborne W. Gooch 1837-41 Bernard Peyton 1841-45 Thomas B. Bigger 1845-61 Alexander Sharp 1865-69 Elizabeth L. Van Lew 1869-77 William W. Forbes 1877-80 George K. Gilmer 1880-85 William H. Collingworth 1885-89 Otis H. Russell 1889-94 William H. Collingworth 1894-98 Wray Thomas Knight 1898-1906 Royal E. Cabell 1906-09 Edgar Allan, Jr. 1909-14 Hay T. Thornton 1914-22 Joseph W. Stewart 1922 Joseph W. Stewart 1922-31 Berkeley Williams 1931-34 Clyde W. Saunders 1934-39 Fergus McRee 1939-61 J. Floyd Bates 1961-62 J. Floyd Bates 1962 John G. Mizell 1962-63 John G. Mizell 1963-78

    (consolidated with Richmond 1910)

    Postmasters at Manchester, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    B. B. Weisiger as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VA/ofc/richmond.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]