The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Portsmouth, Virginia

Mayors of Portsmouth, 1952-56 (may be incomplete!)
Fred A. Duke as of 1952-56

Postmasters at Portsmouth, 1784-1980 (may be incomplete!)
John Smith 1784-90 James Harper 1790-95 William B. Lamb 1795-96 James Mathews 1796 Robert Shelton 1797 Robert Thompson 1799-1802 Jesse Nicholson 1802-34 John Hodges 1834-50 Edward R. Hunter 1850-53 Charles L. Cocke 1853-54 John K. Cooke 1854-61 E. T. Blamire 1861 John K. Cooke 1861-63 John O. Lawrence 1863-69 James H. Clements 1869-76 Robert. G. Staples 1876-84 Ambrose H. Lindsay 1884-87 William A. Fiske 1887-89 Ambrose H. Lindsay 1889-94 Richard L. Herbert 1894-98 Samuel L. Burroughs 1898-1902 Holt F. Butt, Jr 1902-14 Samuel T. Montague 1914-18 Patrick J. Riley 1918-22 Patrick J. Riley 1922-31 Lewis B. Barclay 1931-32 Bryant J. Lipscomb 1932-33 Kemp Plumer 1933-34 Kemp Plumer 1934-36 Robert D. M. Ogg 1936-37 Chester H. Markham 1937-39 Samuel F. Kirby 1939-59 Francis J. Riley 1959-61 William E. Doxey 1961 William E. Doxey 1961-80

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VA/ofc/portsmouth.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]