The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Newport News, Virginia
including Warwick
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Newport News, 1896-2015 (may be incomplete!)
Walter A. Post 1896-98 Allen A. Moss 1898-1904 Samuel R. Buxton 1904-08 Maryus Jones 1908-12 Bernard B. Semmes 1912-16 Allen A. Moss 1916-20 Philip W. Hiden 1920-24 Charles C. Smith 1924-26 Thomas B. Jones 1926-30 Harry Reyner 1930-32 Richard W. West 1932-36 B. G. James 1936-40 T. Parker Host, Sr. 1940-42 R. Cowles Taylor 1942-55 Alfred M. Monfalcone 1956 Robert B. Smith 1956-58 Oscar J. Brittingham, Jr. 1958-62 Donald M. Hyatt 1962-70 J. William Hornsby 1970-74 Harry E. Atkinson 1974-76 Joseph C. Ritchie 1976-86 Jessie M. Rattley 1986-90 Barry E. DuVal 1990-96 Joe S. Frank 1996-2010 McKinley L. Price 2010-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1955 Dec 20: R. Cowles Taylor, died in office.

    Postmasters at Newport News, 1901-72 (may be incomplete!)
    Frederick Read as of 1901 William T. Hopkins 1930-33 Robert P. Holt 1933-34 Robert P. Holt 1934-51 Robert C. Cutler 1951-52 Robert C. Cutler 1952-72

    (consolidated with Newport News 1958)

    Mayors of Warwick, 1953-56 (may be incomplete!)
    George T. Abernathy as of 1953-56

    Postmasters at Warwick, 1841 (may be incomplete!)
    T. R. Dunn, Jr. 1841

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VA/ofc/newportnews.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]