The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Lynchburg, Virginia

Mayors of Lynchburg, 1937-56 (may be incomplete!)
L. E. Lichford as of 1937 Clarence G. Burton 1946 J. V. Morrison as of 1952 John L. Suttenfield as of 1953-56

Postmasters at Lynchburg, 1794-1978 (may be incomplete!)
John F. Powell 1794-98 William Norvell 1798-1805 Josiah Leake 1805-06 Seth Ward 1806-15 Collin Buckner 1815-18 John D. Murrell 1818-42 Lillburn H. Trigg 1842-46 Robert Cawthorn 1846-50 William M. Blackford 1850-53 Robert H. Glass 1853-61 Alexander McDonald 1861 James T. Pritchard 1865 John B. Walthall 1865-69 John F. Wilson 1869-81 Clifford Statham 1881-83 R. Page W. Morris 1883-85 Charles W. Button 1885-87 Tipton D. Jennings 1887-91 James M. McLaughlin 1891-96 Watkins L. Moorman 1896-1902 James M. McLaughlin 1902-15 Isaac H. Adams, Jr. 1915-24 John M. B. Lewis 1924-25 John M. B. Lewis 1925-34 John H. Cave 1934-35 John H. Cave 1935-45 Samuel W. West 1945-46 Samuel W. West 1946-49 John H. Coleman 1949-51 John H. Coleman 1951-57 Owen K. Blackburne 1957 Owen K. Blackburne 1957-64 John D. Ripley, Jr. 1964-66 John D. Ripley, Jr. 1966-78

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VA/ofc/lynchburg.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]