The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Fairfax, Virginia
including Fairfax Court House
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Fairfax, 1892-1936 (may be incomplete!)
Job Hawxhurst 1892 Thomas P. Chapman 1936

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1936 Feb 25: Thomas P. Chapman, died in office.

    Postmasters at Fairfax, 1893-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    Alfred H. Moncure 1893-97 Job Hawxhurst 1897-1903 Richard R. Farr 1903-13 Claude E. Wiley 1913-18 Stephen R. Donohoe 1918 E. Mack Wiley 1918 Charles F. Cummins 1918-19 Charles F. Cummins 1919-23 Ludema Sayre 1923-24 Ludema Sayre 1924-33 Lewis M. Coyner 1933-37 E. Mack Wiley 1937-39 E. Mack Wiley 1939-44 Stacy S. Swart 1944-45 Stacy S. Swart 1945-55 Robert William Miller 1955-57 Charles W. Harris, Jr. 1957-60 Charles W. Harris, Jr. 1960-72

    Fairfax Court House
    (now Fairfax)

    Postmasters at Fairfax Court House, 1802-93 (may be incomplete!)
    John Ratcliff 1802-03 Robert Ratcliff 1803 Thomas Moore 1803 John Ratcliff 1804-05 Hugh Violette 1805-06 Christopher Neale 1806 Hugh W. Minor 1806-09 John Ratcliff 1809-17 William P. Richardson 1817-24 Hiram Carver 1824-25 Joel L. Harper 1825-27 Gordon Allison 1827-37 James G. Allison 1837-40 Robert Allison 1841-57 William R. Chapman 1857-62 Henry T. Brooks 1862 Walter B. Hoag 1862-65 Job Hawxhurst 1865-85 Joseph W. Whitehead 1885-89 Job Hawxhurst 1889-93

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VA/ofc/fairfax.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]