The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Danville, Virginia

Mayors of Danville, 1855-1956 (may be incomplete!)
William T. Sutherlin as of 1855-61 John H. Johnston 1882-84 W. P. Graves 1884 Curtis V. Bishop as of 1952-56

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1884 May 22: W. P. Graves (Dem), elected; John H. Johnston (Ind), defeated.

    Postmasters at Danville, 1797-1970 (may be incomplete!)
    Charles Hoyle 1797-99 William Spiller 1799-1802 Thomas Barnett 1802-05 Samuel Jordan 1805-07 Nathaniel Wilson 1807-08 Robert Willson 1808-11 Joseph Barnett 1811-12 John Ross 1812-18 Joseph C. Megginson 1818-19 Dabney P. Sneed 1819-20 James Lanier 1820-22 Samuel D. Rawlins 1822-26 John A. Rawlins 1826-31 Thompson Coleman 1831-53 John M. Johnston 1853-60 William D. Coleman 1860-61 William B. Payne 1861 John B. Lowry 1865-67 Algar M. Wheeler 1867-85 Thomas R. McDearman 1885-90 John H. Johnston 1890-94 James M. Neal 1894-98 Champ T. Barksdale 1898-1908 Frank D. Lumpkin 1908-14 William N. Brown 1914-21 Frank D. Lumpkin 1921-24 Walter A. Sommers 1924-25 Samuel W. Collie 1925-33 James C. Wellman 1933 Henry C. Swanson 1933-34 Henry C. Swanson 1934-48 Howard G. Gentry 1948-50 Howard G. Gentry 1950-65 Randall J. Wilmarth 1965-66 Randall J. Wilmarth 1966-70

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/VA/ofc/danville.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]