The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Salt Lake City, Utah

Mayors of Salt Lake City, 1851-2016 (may be incomplete!)
Jedediah M. Grant 1851-56 Abraham O. Smoot 1857-66 Daniel H. Wells 1866-76 Feramorz Little 1876-82 William Jennings 1882-85 James Sharp 1885-86 Francis Armstrong 1886-90 George M. Scott 1890-92 William M. Ferry as of 1915-19 Louis Marcus 1932-36 E. B. Erwin as of 1937 Earl J. Glade 1944-54 J. Bracken Lee as of 1960-72 Jake Garn as of 1971-74 Ted L. Wilson 1984-85 Palmer DePaulis 1985-87 Ross C. Anderson 2000- Ralph Becker, Jr. 2008-16

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1856 Dec 1: Jedediah M. Grant, died in office.
  • 1892: Heber M. Wells, defeated.
  • 1936 Jul 6: Louis Marcus, died in office.
  • 1967: D. James Cannon, defeated.
  • 1983 Nov 8: Ted L. Wilson, elected; Sterling G. Webber, defeated.
  • 1985 Oct 8: Palmer DePaulis, nominated; Merrill Cook, nominated; Jess Agraz, defeated in primary; Evy Tessman, defeated in primary; Jerry Reid Christensen, defeated in primary; B. T. Price, Sr., defeated in primary; Robert T. Hoyle, defeated in primary; Victor E. Willey, defeated in primary.
  • 1985 Nov 5: Palmer DePaulis, elected; Merrill Cook, defeated.
  • 1987 Oct 6: Palmer DePaulis, nominated; Ernest Dixon, nominated; Scott A. Breen, defeated in primary.
  • 1987 Nov 3: Palmer DePaulis, elected; Ernest Dixon, defeated.
  • 1991 Nov 5: Deedee Corradini, elected; David L. Buhler, defeated.
  • 2007 Sep 11: Ralph Becker, Jr., nominated; David L. Buhler, nominated; Jenny Wilson, defeated in primary; Keith S. Christensen, defeated in primary; J. P. Hughes, defeated in primary; John M. Renteria, defeated in primary; Quinn Cady McDonough, defeated in primary; Rainer Huck, defeated in primary; Robert Muscheck, defeated in primary.
  • 2007 Nov 6: Ralph Becker, Jr., elected; David L. Buhler, defeated.

    Postmasters at Salt Lake City, 1849-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    Joseph L. Haywood 1849-50 Willard Richards 1850-54 Elias Smith 1854-55 William Bell 1855-56 Elias Smith 1856 Hiram F. Morrell 1856-61 William Bell 1861-62 Thomas B. H. Stenhouse 1862-66 Nathan Stein 1866-67 Anthony W. Street 1867-69 John M. Moore 1869-77 John T. Lynch 1877-86 William C. Browe 1886-87 Caleb R. Barratt 1887-90 Irving A. Benton 1890-92 Albert H. Nash 1892-95 Caleb R. Barratt 1895-98 Arthur Lloyd Thomas 1898-1914 Noble Warrum 1914-23 Ralph Guthrie 1923-28 John McPhee 1928-33 Isaac Albert Smoot 1933-34 Isaac Albert Smoot 1934-50 David R. Trevithick 1950-51 David R. Trevithick 1951-72

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/UT/ofc/saltlakecity.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]