The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Provo, Utah

Mayors of Provo, 1851-2004 (may be incomplete!)
Ellis Eames 1851-52 Evan M. Green 1853-54 Benjamin K. Bullock 1855-60 Ebenezer Hanks 1861 Andrew H. Scott 1861-62 Isaac Bullock 1863 Benjamin K. Bullock 1863 William Miller 1864-67 Abraham O. Smoot 1868-81 Wilson H. Dusenberry 1882-89 John E. Booth 1890-91 Warren N. Dusenberry 1892-93 Lafayette Holbrook 1894-97 Samuel Stephen Jones 1898-99 Thomas N. Taylor 1900-03 William M. Roylance 1904-05 Joseph H. Frisby 1906-07 Charles F. Decker 1908-09 William H. Ray 1910-11 Charles F. Decker 1912-15 James E. Daniels 1916-17 LeRoy Dixon 1918-21 O. K. Hansen 1922-27 Alma Van Wagenen 1928-29 Jesse N. Ellertson 1930-33 Abraham Owen Smoot III 1934-35 Mark Anderson 1936-41 Maurice Harding 1941-45 Mark Anderson 1946-47 George E. Collard 1948-49 C. W. Love 1950-53 Aura C. Hatch 1954-55 Harold E. Van Wagenen 1956-57 G. Marion Hinckley 1958 Lloyd L. Cullimore 1959-61 Ariel S. Ballif 1961 Verl G. Dixon 1962-73 Russell D. Grange 1974-77 James E. Ferguson 1978-85 Joseph A. Jenkins 1986-92 Dennis R. Hall 1993 Michael R. Hill 1993 George O. Stewart 1994-97 Lewis K. Billings 1998-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1861: Ebenezer Hanks, resigned; Andrew H. Scott, appointed.
  • 1863: Isaac Bullock, resigned; Benjamin K. Bullock, appointed.
  • 1941 Aug 28: Mark Anderson, resigned; Maurice Harding, appointed.
  • 1985 Oct 8: Joseph A. Jenkins, nominated; James E. Ferguson, nominated; Mark Phelps Watters, defeated in primary.
  • 1985 Nov 5: Joseph A. Jenkins, elected; James E. Ferguson, defeated.
  • 1989 Oct 3: Joseph A. Jenkins, nominated; Sherm Hislop, nominated; Shari C. Holweg, defeated in primary; Verl G. Dixon, defeated in primary; J. Wayne Spence, defeated in primary; Harold C. Johnson, defeated in primary; Stan Elwood, defeated in primary.
  • 1989 Nov 7: Joseph A. Jenkins, elected; Sherm Hislop, defeated; Shari C. Holweg, defeated.
  • 1993: Michael R. Hill, appointed.

    Postmasters at Provo, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    James Clove as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/UT/ofc/provo.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]