The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Ogden, Utah

Mayors of Ogden, 1953-91 (may be incomplete!)
George T. Frost as of 1953 Raymond Wright as of 1954 Robert A. Madsen 1984-87 L. Clifford Goff 1987-89 Scott Sneddon 1989

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1983 Nov 8: Robert A. Madsen, elected unopposed.
  • 1985 Oct 8: Robert A. Madsen, nominated; E. Darwin Belnap, nominated; Larry Lowder, defeated in primary.
  • 1985 Nov 5: Robert A. Madsen, elected; E. Darwin Belnap, defeated.
  • 1987 Oct 6: Scott Sneddon, nominated; L. Clifford Goff, nominated; Saundra S. Hansen, defeated in primary; E. Darwin Belnap, defeated in primary.
  • 1987 Nov 3: L. Clifford Goff, elected; Scott Sneddon, defeated.
  • 1989 Nov 7: Scott Sneddon, elected; L. Clifford Goff, defeated.
  • 1991 Nov 5: Glenn J. Mecham, elected; Larry Lowder, defeated; Dorrene Jeske, defeated.

    Postmasters at Ogden, 1854-1969 (may be incomplete!)
    James G. Browning 1854-57 Chauncey W. West 1857-70 Isaac Moore 1870-72 Joseph Hall 1872-75 Neal J. Sharp 1875-77 Loyd B. Stephens 1877-79 Nathan Kimball 1879-83 Edwin A. Littlefield 1883-87 John G. Tyler 1887-89 Nathan Kimball 1889-94 George H. Islaub 1894-99 Charles Meighan 1899-1902 Thomas H. Davis 1902-06 William Glasmann 1906-09 Lewis W. Shurtliff 1909-13 William W. Browning 1913-19 George E. Browning 1919-21 Rufus A. Garner 1921-34 Richard B. Porter 1934-35 Richard B. Porter 1935-45 Martin G. Wenger 1945 Edward W. Vendell 1945-49 Edward W. Vendell 1949-69

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/UT/ofc/ogden.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]