The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Waco, Texas

Mayors of Waco, 1895-2004 (may be incomplete!)
C. C. McCullough 1895 W. H. Wilkes 1896 C. C. McCullough 1897-99 J. W. Riggins 1900-02 Allan Sanford 1903 James B. Baker 1904-09 H. D. Mistrot 1910-11 J. H. Mackey 1912-13 J. W. Riggins 1914-15 John Dollins 1916-17 Ed McCullough 1918-19 Ben C. Richards 1920-23 Thomas P. Stone 1924-26 J. W. Holloway 1926 H. F. Connally 1926 A. Baker Duncan 1927 T. D. Brooks 1928-29 T. F. Bush 1930-31 G. H. Zimmerman 1932-33 Carl Mason 1934 John F. Sheehy 1934 Joseph W. Hale 1935-37 C. G. Catto 1937 George O. Jones 1938 T. M. Gribble 1939 L. T. Murray 1940 D. T. Hicks 1941 Hubert Johnson 1942 Berry Williams 1943 A. N. Denton 1944 Frank B. Wilcox 1945-46 Richard C. Bush 1946-47 J. E. Hawkins 1947-49 L. M. Crow 1949-52 L. B. Bradshaw 1952 Ralph R. Wolf 1953-54 H. Frank Connally, Jr. 1954-55 O. B. Robertson 1955-56 D. T. Hicks, Jr. 1956-57 Truett K. Smith 1957-58 Joe L. Ward, Jr. 1958-59 Madison Clement 1959-60 Billy J. Hinton 1960-61 Maurice C. Barnes 1961-62 Stanton Brown, Jr. 1962-63 W. B. Lenamon 1963-64 Roger N. Conger 1964-65 J. Ernest Pardo 1965-66 P. M. Johnston 1966-68 H. Malcolm Louden 1968-69 Howard Dudgeon, Jr. 1969-70 Travis Du Bois, Jr. 1970-71 Karl M. May 1971-72 C. W. 'Bill' McDavid 1972 Harold Mathias 1972-74 Oscar N. Du Conge 1974-75 L. Ted Getterman, Jr. 1975-76 M. A. 'Catfish' Smith 1976 J. R. Closs 1976-77 J. Leigh Brooks 1977-78 L. Ted Getterman, Jr. 1978-79 J. P. Davis 1979-80 George Chase 1980 David Dow 1980-81 Billy H. Davis 1981-82 Roland Arriola 1982 Jim Mathis 1982-83 J. R. Mathis 1983-84 Malcolm P. Duncan 1984-85 Ruben M. Santos 1985-86 LaNelle McNamara 1986-87 David Sibley III 1987-88 R. D. Pattillo 1988-90 Charles Reed 1990-92 J. Robert Sheehy 1992-96 Michael D. Morrison 1996-2000 Linda Ethridge 2000-04 Mae J. Jackson 2004-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1926 Apr 9: Thomas P. Stone, resigned.
  • 1926 Apr 15: J. W. Holloway, resigned.
  • 1934 Nov 21: Carl Mason, resigned.
  • 1972 Nov 15: C. W. 'Bill' McDavid, died in office.
  • 1976 Apr 13: L. Ted Getterman, Jr., resigned.

    Postmasters at Waco, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    G. B. Gerald as of 1887 W. A. Stoner as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/ofc/waco.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]