The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Texarkana, Texas

Mayors of Texarkana, 1874-2013 (may be incomplete!)
O. T. Lyons 1874-75 W. H. Hakes 1875-76 J. M. Draughon 1876 W. B. Russell 1876-79 R. W. Rodgers 1879-82 Antonio L. Ghio 1882-86 J. H. Henderson 1886-88 G. W. Edwards 1888 W. H. McCartney 1888-89 D. C. Porter 1889-90 Robert L. Henry 1890-91 S. D. Lary 1891-94 P. A. Turner 1894-96 W. S. Hardin 1896-1900 Thomas H. Estes 1900-02 A. C. Stuart 1902-08 A. B. DeLoach 1908-12 H. W. Runnels 1912-18 W. J. Nichols 1918-22 G. W. Middleton 1922-24 H. S. Brashear 1924-28 L. S. Kennedy 1928-32 R. Cal Cowan 1932-34 William V. Brown 1934-39 William N. Harkness as of 1946 Carroll L. Shiffer as of 1953-54 A. P. Miller, Jr. as of 1955 James Bramlett 1998-2008 Steve Mayo 2008-12 Bob Bruggeman 2012-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 2008 May 10: Steve Mayo, elected; Benjamin Dennis, defeated.
  • 2012 May 11: Bob Bruggeman, elected; H. E. 'Pete' Snow, defeated.

    Postmasters at Texarkana, 1887 (may be incomplete!)
    Charlotte A. Whittaker as of 1887

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/ofc/texarkana.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]