The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Port Arthur, Texas

Mayors of Port Arthur, 1953-55 (may be incomplete!)
Chris F. Petersen as of 1953 M. J. Babin, Jr. as of 1954 C. R. Eisler as of 1955

Postmasters at Port Arthur, 1896-1969 (may be incomplete!)
Mate Strong 1896-99 Darwin H. Barnes 1899-1904 Clark E. Dodge 1904-10 William P. Park 1910-14 Joseph H. Washburne 1914-23 Simpson I. Dunn 1923-35 Walter S. Martin 1935-47 Ferman C. Toups 1947-49 Ferman C. Toups 1949-54 Tedroe J. Ford 1954-55 Kyle C. Elam 1955-61 Joseph A. Verret, Jr. 1961-62 Elmo B. Carleton 1962-63 Hiram C. Dubose 1963 Hiram C. Dubose 1963-64 Ferman C. Martinez 1964-65 Ferman C. Martinez 1965-69

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/ofc/portarthur.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]