The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors of Irving, Texas

Mayors of Irving, 1914-2001 (may be incomplete!)
Otis Brown 1914-17 C. G. Miller 1917-19 P. H. Lively 1919-21 W. F. Miller 1921-23 M. R. Price 1923-25 C. G. Miller 1925-27 John Haley 1927-33 F. M. Gilbert 1933-37 C. P. Caldwell 1937-43 E. J. Johnson 1943-47 Hans Smith 1947-51 C. B. Hardee 1951-57 Paul C. Laird 1957-59 Lynn Brown 1959-67 Robert H. Power 1967-71 Dan Matkin 1971-77 Marvin Randle 1977-81 Bobby Joe Raper 1981-87 Bob Pierce 1987-91 Roy Brown 1991-93 Bobby Joe Raper 1993-95 Morris Parrish 1995-99 Joe Putnam 1999-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1999 May 1: Joe Putnam, elected; J. Roland Jeter, defeated; Clair Woertendyke, defeated; Michael Compotaro, defeated.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/ofc/irving.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]