The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Houston, Texas

Mayors of Houston, 1837-2018 (may be incomplete!)
James S. Holman 1837 Francis W. Moore, Jr. 1838-39 George W. Lively 1839 Charles Bigelow 1840 J. D. Andrews 1841-42 Francis W. Moore, Jr. 1843 Horace Baldwin 1844 W. W. Swain 1845 James Bailey 1846 B. P. Buckner 1847-48 Francis W. Moore, Jr. 1849-52 Nathan Fuller 1853-54 James H. Stevens 1855-56 Cornelius Ennis 1856-57 Alexander McGowan 1858 William King 1859 Thomas W. Whitmarsh 1860 William J. Hutchins 1861 Thomas W. House 1862 William Anders 1863-65 Horace D. Taylor 1866 Alexander McGowan 1867-68 Joseph R. Morris 1868-70 Thomas H. Scanlan 1870-73 James T. D. Wilson 1874 I. C. Lord 1875-76 James T. D. Wilson 1877-78 Andrew J. Burke 1879-80 William R. Baker 1880-86 Daniel C. Smith 1886-90 Henry Scherffius 1890-92 John T. Browne 1892-96 H. Baldwin Rice 1896-98 Samuel H. Brashear 1898-1901 John D. Woolford 1901-02 O. T. Holt 1902-04 Andrew L. Jackson 1904-05 H. Baldwin Rice 1905-13 Ben Campbell 1913-17 Joseph Jay Pastoriza 1917 Joseph Chappell Hutcheson, Jr. 1917-18 A. Earl Amerman 1918-21 Oscar F. Holcombe 1921-29 Walter E. Monteith 1929-33 Oscar F. Holcombe 1933-37 Richard H. Fonville 1937-38 Oscar F. Holcombe 1939-41 Neal Pickett 1941-43 Otis Massey 1943-46 Oscar F. Holcombe 1947-53 Roy Hofheinz 1953-55 Oscar F. Holcombe 1956-58 Lewis W. Cutrer 1958-63 Louie Welch 1964-73 Fred Hofheinz 1974-77 Jim McConn 1978-81 Kathy Whitmire 1982-91 Bob Lanier 1992-98 Lee P. Brown 1998-2004 Bill White 2004-10 Annise Parker 2010-16 Sylvester Turner 2016-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1917 Jul 9: Joseph Jay Pastoriza, died in office.
  • 1929: Oscar F. Holcombe, defeated.
  • 1931: Oscar F. Holcombe, defeated.
  • 1957: Lewis W. Cutrer, elected.
  • 1959: Lewis W. Cutrer, elected.
  • 1961: Lewis W. Cutrer, elected.
  • 1963: Louie Welch, elected; Lewis W. Cutrer, defeated.
  • 1981: Jim McConn, defeated.
  • 1991: Bob Lanier, elected.
  • 1991 Nov 5: Sylvester Turner, advanced to runoff.
  • 1991 Dec 7: Sylvester Turner, defeated.
  • 1993: Bob Lanier, elected.
  • 1995: Bob Lanier, elected.
  • 1997: Robert Mosbacher, Jr., defeated.
  • 1999 Nov 2: Lee P. Brown, elected; Jack Terence, defeated; Outlaw Josey Wales IV, defeated.
  • 2003 Nov 4: Bill White, advanced to runoff; Orlando Sanchez, advanced to runoff; Sylvester Turner, defeated; Anthony Dutrow, defeated; Veronique Michelle Gregory, defeated; John Worldpeace, defeated; Jack Terence, defeated; Luis Ralph Ullrich, Jr., defeated; Douglas Robb, defeated.
  • 2003 Dec 6: Bill White, elected; Orlando Sanchez, defeated.
  • 2005 Nov 8: Bill White, elected; Gladys Marie House, defeated; Jack Terence, defeated; Luis Ralph Ullrich, Jr., defeated; Anthony Dutrow, defeated.
  • 2007 Nov 6: Bill White, elected; Amanda Ulman, defeated; Outlaw Josey Wales IV, defeated.
  • 2009 Nov 3: Annise Parker, advanced to runoff; Gene L. Locke, advanced to runoff; Peter Brown, defeated; Roy Morales, defeated; Amanda Ulman, defeated; Charles Cupp, defeated; Luis Ralph Ullrich, Jr., defeated.
  • 2009 Dec 12: Annise Parker, elected; Gene L. Locke, defeated.
  • 2011: Annise Parker, elected.
  • 2013: Annise Parker, elected.
  • 2015 Nov 3: Sylvester Turner, advanced to runoff.
  • 2015 Dec 12: Sylvester Turner, elected.

    Postmasters at Houston, 1846-1969 (may be incomplete!)
    M. K. Snell 1846-49 Isaac E. Wade 1849-50 Frederic W. Smith 1850-53 Owen L. Cochran 1853-65 Joseph S. Taft 1865-66 Samuel Harper 1866-69 James G. Tracy 1869-73 John E. Whittlesey 1873-74 Timothy H. Scanlan 1874-79 Joseph Richardson 1879-81 Henry D. Johnson 1881-85 Robert Burns 1885-89 George A. Race 1889-93 Daniel C. Smith 1893-98 Seth B. Strong 1898-1912 Frank J. DeMeritt 1912-13 Thomas W. House 1913-22 Roy B. Nichols 1922-34 James S. Griffith 1934-35 James S. Griffith 1935-39 John Dunlop 1939-47 Granville W. Elder 1947-49 Granville W. Elder 1949-69

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/ofc/houston.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]