The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Galveston, Texas

Mayors of Galveston, 1856-1955 (may be incomplete!)
John Henry Brown as of 1856-57 C. H. Leonard 1879 Lewis Fisher 1909-17 Isaac H. Kempner as of 1917-19 Adrian Levy as of 1935-39 H. Y. Cartwright, Jr. as of 1952-55 Theodore Stubbs 1960

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1875: Norris Wright Cuney, defeated.
  • 1879 Mar 3: C. H. Leonard (Ind), elected; W. M. Stafford (Dem), defeated.

    Postmasters at Galveston, 1846-1970 (may be incomplete!)
    Robert D. Johnson 1846-53 John B. Root 1853-57 Henry B. Andrews 1857-60 John B. Root 1860-65 Victor W. Grahn 1865-68 James W. McDonough 1868-69 James A. McKee 1869-72 William T. Clark 1872-74 A. B. Hall 1874 Chauncey B. Sabin 1874-83 Oscar Gareissen 1883-84 William H. Griffin 1884-85 Thomas A. Gary 1885-89 William H. Sinclair 1889-93 Alexander M. Shannon 1893-98 Harry A. Griffin 1898-1914 Edmund R. Cheesborough 1914-23 Oliver S. York 1923-33 Robert A. Lyons, Jr. 1934 Robert A. Lyons, Jr. 1934-40 Mary J. Lyons 1940 Raymond A. Stewart 1940-58 William H. Beheler 1958-61 Walter J. Gates 1961-62 Frank A. Yeager 1962-63 Frank A. Yeager 1963-65 Thomas A. Boulmay 1966 Thomas A. Boulmay 1966-70

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/ofc/galveston.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]