The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of El Paso, Texas

Mayors of El Paso, 1873-1993 (may be incomplete!)
Ben S. Dowell 1873-75 Melton A. Jones 1875-76 Solomon Shultz 1880-81 Joseph Magoffin 1881-85 C. Lightbody 1885-89 Richard Caples 1889-93 W. H. Austin 1893-94 Adolph Solomon 1894 A. K. Albers 1894 Robert Campbell 1895-97 Joseph Magoffin 1897-1901 Ben F. Hammett 1901-03 Charles Davis, Sr. 1905-07 Joseph Sweeney 1907-10 W. F. Robinson 1910 Charles E. Kelly 1910-15 Tom Lea 1915-17 Charles Davis, Jr. 1917-23 Richard M. Dudley 1923-25 H. P. Jackson 1925-27 R. Ewing Thomason 1927-31 A. B. Poe 1931 R. E. Sherman 1931-37 M. A. Harlan 1937-38 J. E. Anderson 1938-47 John Edward Anderson 1939 Dan R. Ponder 1947-49 Dan L. P. Dike 1949-51 Fred Hervey 1951-55 W. T. Misenhimer 1955 Tom E. Rogers 1955-57 Raymond Telles 1957-61 Ralph Seitsinger 1961-63 Judson F. Williams 1963-69 Ashley G. Classen 1969 Peter De Wetter 1969-71 Bert Williams 1971-73 Fred Hervey 1973-75 Don Henderson 1975-77 Ray Salazar 1977-79 Thomas D. Westfall 1979-81 Jonathan W. Rogers 1981-89 Suzanne S. Azar 1989-91 William S. Tilney 1991-93 Larry Francis 1993-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1925 May 1: Richard M. Dudley, died in office.
  • 1989 May 6: Suzanne S. Azar, elected; Ed Elsey, defeated.

    Postmasters at El Paso, 1852-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    Jarvis Hubbell 1852-55 Archibald C. Hyde 1855-57 Ben S. Dowell 1857-60 Vincent St. Vrain 1860-61 Ben S. Dowell 1861-63 George T. Putnam 1863-66 Archibald C. Hyde 1866 John A. Thayer 1866-68 Louis Cardes 1868-69 Edmond Stine 1869 Henry Schwenker 1869 Edmond Stine 1869-70 Frank C. Marsh 1870-77 Albert Schutz 1877-79 John B. Tays 1879 James Marr 1879-80 Fanny D. Porter 1880-90 James A. Smith 1890-94 John Julian 1894-98 Robert F. Campbell 1898-1902 Theodore B. Olshausen 1902-07 James A. Smith 1907-15 Eugene A. Shelton 1915-22 James J. Ormsbee 1922-23 James J. Ormsbee 1923-26 Luther C. Cole 1926 Henry C. Kramp 1926-27 Henry C. Kramp 1927-33 Milton L. Burleson 1933-34 Milton L. Burleson 1934-53 Charles T. Boyce 1953-55 Charles T. Boyce 1955-61 James J. Kaster, Jr. 1961-63 James J. Kaster, Jr. 1963-72

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/ofc/elpaso.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]