The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Denton, Texas

Mayors of Denton, 1869-2021 (may be incomplete!)
J. B. Sawyer 1869-70 W. J. Austin 1870-71 Dempsey Jackson 1871-72 W. C. Bobbett 1872-73 R. B. Coleman 1873-74 D. J. Edelman 1874-76 J. W. Jagoe 1876-77 M. W. Davenport 1877-78 John Allen Withers 1878-79 Thomas E. Hogg 1879-80 I. D. Ferguson 1880-81 D. N. Dobson 1881-82 C. L. Herbert, Jr. 1882 D. A. Robinson 1882-83 T. W. Abney 1883-85 Oliver P. Poe 1885-88 Emory C. Smith 1888-90 Joseph A. Carroll 1890-91 M. W. Davenport 1891 Oliver P. Poe 1891-94 F. M. Davidson 1894-96 Oliver P. Poe 1896-1904 W. L. McCormick 1904-06 T. J. Simmons 1906-08 Ed F. Bates 1908-10 Oliver P. Poe 1910-12 Ed F. Bates 1912-14 W. L. Foreman 1914-16 S. G. Gary 1916-17 P. J. Beyette 1917-19 H. V. Hennen 1919-25 B. W. McKenzie 1926-33 J. L. Wright 1934-38 Lee Preston 1938-46 J. L. Yarbrough 1946-50 Mark Hannah 1950-54 J. L. Yarbrough 1954-56 Jack Bryson 1956-59 Frank R. Barrow 1959-62 W. F. Brooks, Sr. 1962 Warren Whitson, Jr. 1962-67 Zeke Martin 1967-69 L. A. Nelson 1969-70 Alexander M. Finlay, Jr. 1970-72 Bill Neu 1972-75 Tom D. Jester, Jr. 1975-76 Elinor Hughes 1976-78 Joe Mitchell 1978-79 Bill Nash 1979-80 Richard O. Stewart 1980-86 Ray Stephens 1986-90 Bob Castleberry 1990-96 Jack Miller 1996-2000 Euline Brock 2000-06 Perry McNeill 2006-08 Mark Burroughs 2008-13 Gerard Hudspeth 2021-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1933 Dec 28: J. L. Wright, elected; W. C. 'Will' Collier, defeated; J. C. Coit, defeated; W. B. Long, defeated; Clarence E. Miller, defeated; Frank B. Hodges, defeated; Pat N. Roberts, defeated.
  • 1934 Apr 3: J. L. Wright, elected; J. C. Coit, defeated.
  • 1936 Apr 7: J. L. Wright, advanced to runoff; George Fritz, advanced to runoff; G. T. Turner, defeated; Robert T. Day, defeated.
  • 1936 Apr 21: J. L. Wright, elected; George Fritz, defeated.
  • 1938 Apr 5: Lee Preston, advanced to runoff; J. L. Wright, advanced to runoff; Robert T. Day, defeated; Ira O'Dell, defeated.
  • 1938 Apr 19: Lee Preston, elected; J. L. Wright, defeated.
  • 1940 Apr 2: Lee Preston, elected; J. W. Gray, defeated; J. L. Wright, defeated.
  • 1942 Apr 7: Lee Preston, elected; W. L. 'Lee' McCormick, defeated; John T. Campbell, defeated; Boyd Armstrong, defeated.
  • 1944 Apr 4: Lee Preston, elected.
  • 1946 Apr 2: J. L. Yarbrough, elected; Lee Preston, defeated.
  • 1952 Apr 1: Mark Hannah, elected unopposed.
  • 2010 May 8: Mark Burroughs, elected; Bob Clifton, defeated.
  • 2012 May 12: Mark Burroughs, advanced to runoff; Neil L. Durrance, advanced to runoff; Donna Woodfork, defeated.
  • 2012 Jun 23: Mark Burroughs, elected; Neil L. Durrance, defeated.
  • 2016 May 7: Chris Watts, elected unopposed.
  • 2020 Nov 3: Keely Briggs, advanced to runoff; Gerard Hudspeth, advanced to runoff; Michael Mitchell, defeated.
  • 2020 Dec 8: Gerard Hudspeth, elected; Keely Briggs, defeated.

    Postmasters at Denton, 1887-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    W. H. Bates as of 1887 C. T. Ramsdell as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/ofc/denton.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]