The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Corsicana, Texas

Mayors of Corsicana, 1871-1975 (may be incomplete!)
Ira P. Taylor 1871 George W. Smith 1871 Ira P. Taylor 1871 Thomas J. Haynes 1872-75 James L. Harle 1875-77 John L. Miller 1877-80 L. R. Irons 1880-83 John R. Smith 1883-85 Robert Scott Neblett 1885-88 Charles H. Allyn 1888-90 Jesse Franklin Stout 1890-92 Jink Evans 1892-94 James Emerson Whiteselle 1894-98 James Hollins Woods 1898-1900 Samuel Wister Johnson 1900-02 Edwin O. Call 1902-05 Edward Albert Johnson 1905-09 Baldwin H. Woods, Jr. 1909-13 Joshua Lucius Halbert 1913-23 Jesse Shain Eubanks 1923-25 John Smith Murchison 1925-29 Robert Lloyd Wheelock 1929-31 J. Wesley Edens 1931-35 John Smith Murchison 1935-40 John C. Calhoun 1940-47 Hubert Thomas Braselton 1947-51 Ben F. Blackmon 1951-53 Charles C. Sapp 1953-55 Walter Erwin 1955-57 J. Thomas Eady 1957-59 Robert S. Reading 1959-65 Calvin David Campbell 1965-67 Hermon L. Roberts 1967-69 William Polk Murchison 1969-71 Sue Youngblood 1971-75

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1940: John Smith Murchison, resigned.
  • 1951 Apr 3: Ben F. Blackmon, elected.
  • 1961 Apr 4: Robert S. Reading, elected.

    Postmasters at Corsicana, 1849-1973 (may be incomplete!)
    R. N. White 1849-52 Hamptom McKinney 1852-53 Joel D. Hicks 1853-54 M. V. Powell 1854 Lucious T. Wheeler 1854-56 Robert G. Leetch 1856-58 David B. Smith 1858-59 John L. Miller 1859 R. A. VanHorn 1859 Turner W. Garner 1859-60 Julius A. Oakes 1860-62 Abraham Duren 1862-66 Harriet A. Trent 1866 Alexander H. Davis 1866-68 John T. Parrish 1868 William T. Parrish 1868-71 David Page 1871 George W. Smith 1871-72 Robert J. Shelton 1872-76 Isaak Baum 1876-79 Pauline Wood 1879-81 Henry M. Ryan 1881-84 Adolph Zadek 1884-86 Andrew F. Wood 1886-89 Adolph Zadek 1889-93 Nathaniel J. Mills 1893-98 Louis C. Revare 1898-1901 James W. A. Clark 1901-06 Harris E. Kinsloe 1906-14 Archie N. Justiss 1914-23 Pierce Mayer 1923-33 Hugh Loper 1933 Albert A. Allison 1933-34 Albert A. Allison 1934-43 Grover C. Hudson 1943-44 Grover C. Hudson 1944-56 Charles E. Rittersbacher 1956-57 Charles E. Rittersbacher 1957-67 William C. Galloway 1967-68 William C. Galloway 1968-73

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/ofc/corsicana.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]