The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Beaumont, Texas

Mayors of Beaumont, 1937-55 (may be incomplete!)
P. D. Renfro as of 1937 Otho Plummer as of 1952-54 Elmo R. Beard as of 1955

Postmasters at Beaumont, 1846-1972 (may be incomplete!)
William P. Herring 1846-58 Otto Ruff 1858-60 John J. Herring 1860-61 Wilson A. Junker 1861 P. H. Glaze 1861-63 Alexander Henkle 1863-65 Thomas Snow 1865-66 John J. Herring 1866 George L. Ewing 1866-67 Daniel P. Regan 1867-69 John McFarlane 1869 William L. Rigsby 1869-70 A. J. Tevis 1870-71 Daniel P. Regan 1871 Samuel Weller 1871 William L. Rigsby 1871-73 Hezekiah Williams 1873-74 George W. Kidd 1874-77 Samuel Webber 1877-81 George E. Vallade 1881-85 Andrew J. Ward 1885-90 Charles L. Nash 1890-91 Patrick Larkin 1891-93 Guy W. Junker 1893-97 James P. Armstrong 1897-1900 Charles R. Bone 1900-15 Jack Dies 1915-20 Henry L. Rankin 1920 Albert B. Seale 1920-24 Clarence L. Rutt 1924-25 Charles P. J. Ledwidge 1925-33 Chester A. Easley 1933-35 Ogden Johnson 1935-46 Tobe Hahn 1946-47 Tobe Hahn 1947-48 Felix S. Braden 1948-49 Felix S. Braden 1949-61 Herbert M. Cole 1961-67 Herbert M. Cole 1967-72

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TX/ofc/beaumont.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]