The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Nashville, Tennessee

Mayors of Nashville, 1806-2007 (may be incomplete!)
Joseph Coleman 1806-09 Benjamin J. Bradford 1809-11 William Tait 1811-13 Joseph Thorpe Elliston 1813-17 Stephen Cantrell, Jr. 1817-18 Felix Robertson 1818-19 Thomas Crutcher 1819-20 James Condon 1820-21 John P. Erwin 1821-22 Robert B. Currey 1822-24 Randal McGavock 1824-25 Wilkins F. Tannehill 1825-26 Felix Robertson 1826-28 William Armstrong 1828-32 John Meredith Bass 1833-34 John P. Erwin 1834-35 William Nichol 1835-36 Henry Hollingsworth 1836-38 Charles Clay Trabue 1838-40 Samuel Van Dyke Stout 1840-42 Thomas B. Coleman 1842-43 Powhaten Woolridge Maxey 1843-44 John Hugh Smith 1844-46 John A. Goodlett 1846-47 Alexander Allison 1847-48 John M. Lea 1848-50 John Hugh Smith 1850-52 Williamson Hartley Horn 1852-54 William B. Shapard 1854 Robert Bell Castleman 1854-55 Andrew Anderson 1855-57 John Alexander McEwen 1857-58 Randal William McGavock 1858-59 Samuel Newton Hollingsworth 1859-60 Richard Boone Cheatham 1860-62 John Hugh Smith 1862-64 William Matt Brown 1864-67 Augustus E. Alden 1867-69 John Meredith Bass 1869 Kindred Jenkins Morris 1869-71 Thomas A. Kercheval 1871-74 Morton Boyte Howell 1874-75 Thomas A. Kercheval 1875-83 Claiborne Hooper Phillips 1883-86 Thomas A. Kercheval 1886-88 Charles Pinckney McCarver 1888-90 William Litterer 1890-91 George B. Guild 1891-95 William Marshall McCarthy 1895-97 Richard Houston Dudley 1897-1900 James M. Head 1900-04 Hilary E. Howse 1909-15 Hilary E. Howse 1924-38 Thomas Lee Cummings 1938-47 Ben West 1951-63 Richard H. Fulton 1975-87 William H. Boner 1987- Phil Bredesen 1991-99 Bill Purcell 2000-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1854: Robert Bell Castleman, appointed.
  • 1857: B. F. Cheatham, defeated.
  • 1888: Thomas A. Kercheval, resigned.
  • 1890 Oct 24: Charles Pinckney McCarver, resigned.
  • 1891 Oct 8: George B. Guild, elected.
  • 1893 Oct 12: George B. Guild, elected.
  • 1895 Oct 3: William Marshall McCarthy, elected.
  • 1897 Oct 4: Richard Houston Dudley, elected.
  • 1938 Jan 2: Hilary E. Howse, died in office.
  • 1999: Bill Purcell, elected.
  • 2003: Bill Purcell, elected.

    Postmasters at Nashville, 1795-1971 (may be incomplete!)
    John Gordon 1795-96 William Stothart 1796-1801 Robert Stothart 1801-11 Robert B. Currey 1811-26 John P. Erwin 1826-29 Robert Armstrong 1829-45 Leonard P. Cheatham 1845-49 John Shelley 1849-53 Samuel R. Anderson 1853-61 William D. McNish 1861 John Lellyett 1862 Adrian V. S. Lindsley 1862-67 Bowling Embry 1867-71 William F. Prosser 1871-74 Herman Hasslock 1874-77 William P. Jones 1877-85 B. F. Cheatham 1885-86 Ann B. Cheatham 1886-88 John H. Currey 1888-89 Andrew W. Wills 1889-94 Hampton J. Cheney 1894-98 Andrew W. Wills 1898-1914 Eugene S. Shannon 1914-20 Charles M. McCabe 1920-24 William J. O'Callaghan 1924-28 Ollie F. Minton 1928-29 Ollie F. Minton 1929-33 William Gupton 1933-34 William Gupton 1934-48 Lewis E. Moore, Jr. 1948-49 Lewis E. Moore, Jr. 1949-71

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1886 Sep 4: B. F. Cheatham, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TN/ofc/nashville.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]