The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Memphis, Tennessee

Mayors of Memphis, 1827-2003 (may be incomplete!)
Marcus B. Winchester 1827-29 Isaac Rawlings 1829-31 Seth Wheatley 1831-32 Robert Lawrence 1832-33 Isaac Rawlings 1833-36 Enoch Banks 1836-37 John H. Morgan 1837-38 Enoch Banks 1838-39 Thomas Dixon 1839-41 William Spickernagle 1841-42 Edwin Hickman 1842-45 Jesse J. Finley 1845-46 Edwin Hickman 1846-47 Enoch Banks 1847-48 Gardner E. Locke 1848-49 Edwin Hickman 1849-52 A. B. Taylor 1852-55 A. H. Douglass 1855-56 T. B. Carroll 1856-57 R. D. Baugh 1857-61 John Park 1861-64 Thomas H. Harris 1864 Channing Richards 1864-65 John Park 1865-66 William Lofland 1866-68 McDavitt 1868 John W. Leftwich 1868-69 J. T. Swayne 1869 John W. Leftwich 1869-70 John Johnson 1870-74 John Loague 1874-76 John R. Flippin 1876-79 W. L. Clapp 1895-98 J. J. Williams 1898-1906 James H. Malone 1906-10 Edward H. Crump 1910-16 George C. Love 1916 Thomas C. Ashcroft 1916-17 Harry H. Litty 1917-18 Frank L. Monteverde 1918-19 Rowlett Paine 1920-27 Watkins Overton 1928-39 Edward H. Crump 1940 Joseph Patrick Boyle 1940 Walter Chandler 1940-46 Joseph Patrick Boyle 1946 Sylvanus W. Polk, Sr. 1946-47 James J. Pleasants, Jr. 1947-49 Watkins Overton 1949-53 Frank T. Tobey 1953-55 Walter Chandler 1955 Edmund Orgill 1956-59 Henry Loeb 1960-63 Claude A. Armour 1963 William B. Ingram 1963-67 Henry Loeb 1968-71 Wyeth Chandler 1972-82 J. O. Patterson, Jr. 1982 Wallace Madewell 1982 Richard C. Hackett 1982-91 Willie W. Herenton 1992-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1909: Edward H. Crump, elected.
  • 1911: Edward H. Crump, elected.
  • 1915: Edward H. Crump, elected.
  • 1916 Feb 22: Edward H. Crump, resigned.
  • 1947 Mar 27: James J. Pleasants, Jr., elected.
  • 1947 Apr 15: Sylvanus W. Polk, Sr., resigned.
  • 1949 Jan 15: James J. Pleasants, Jr., resigned.
  • 1955 Sep 11: Frank T. Tobey, died in office.
  • 1963 Oct 11: Henry Loeb, resigned.
  • 1982 Oct 1: Wyeth Chandler, resigned.
  • 1982 Nov 3: Richard C. Hackett, advanced to runoff.
  • 1982 Nov 30: Richard C. Hackett, elected.
  • 1983 Oct 6: Richard C. Hackett, elected.
  • 2003 Oct 9: Willie W. Herenton, elected; John Willingham, defeated; Randle Catron, defeated; Mary Taylor-Shelby, defeated; Robert Hodges, defeated; Walter Payne, defeated; Frank J. Whitney, defeated; Dirk Winters, defeated.

    Postmasters at Memphis, 1823-1969 (may be incomplete!)
    Marcus B. Winchester 1823-49 F. S. Latham 1849-53 William H. Carroll 1853-60 Matthew C. Galloway 1860-61 Rolfe S. Saunders 1861 Robert C. Gist 1864-69 Josiah Deloach 1869-77 Robert A. Thompson 1877-78 Anna D. H. Thompson 1878-82 James H. Smith 1882-85 Jeptha M. Fawlkes 1885-89 R. F. Patterson 1889-93 Robert B. Armour 1893-97 William M. Farrington 1897-99 Leander W. Dutro 1899-1913 J. C. French 1913 John J. Morrison 1913-14 Charles W. Metcalf, Jr. 1914-22 Solomon Seches 1922-27 George T. Taylor 1927-28 Edward V. Sheely 1928-29 Edward V. Sheely 1929-33 Hugh C. McKellar 1933-34 Hugh C. McKellar 1934-48 Atwell L. Moreland 1948-49 Atwell L. Moreland 1949-66 Linus L. Sims 1966-68 Linus L. Sims 1968-69

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TN/ofc/memphis.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]