The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Chattanooga, Tennessee
including Riverview
Mayors, Postmasters

Mayors of Chattanooga, 1840-2010 (may be incomplete!)
James Enfield Berry 1840 Beriah Frazier 1841 Milo Smith 1842-43 Joseph Strong Gillespie 1844-45 Henry White Massengale 1846-48 Thomas Crutchfield, Sr. 1849 Milo Smith 1850-52 Henry White Massengale 1853 William Williams 1854 William F. Ragsdale 1854 Eldridge Gerry Pearl 1855 David Claiborne McMillin 1856 William D. Fulton 1857 William Samuel Bell 1858 Thomas Crutchfield, Jr. 1859 Thomas Erskine Grenville 1860 James Cartwright Warner 1861 Milo Smith 1862-63 Richard Henderson 1865 Charles E. Lewis 1866 Dudley C. Carr 1867-68 Alonzo G. Sharp 1869 William P. Rathburn 1870-71 John T. Wilder 1871-72 Josiah Jackson Bryan 1872 Eli M. Wright 1873 Philander D. Sims 1874 John W. James 1875 Tomlinson Fort 1876 Eli M. Wright 1877 Thomas J. Carlisle 1878 Andrew Jackson Gahagan 1878 Jesse Thomas Hill 1879 Henry Frederick Temple 1880 John A. Hart 1881 H. Clay Evans 1882-83 Hugh Whiteside 1883-85 Alonzo G. Sharp 1885-87 John B. Nicklin 1887-89 John A. Hart 1889-91 Isaac B. Merriman 1891 Garnett Andrews 1891-93 George W. Ochs 1893-97 Edmund Watkins 1897-99 Joseph Wassman 1899-1901 William L. Frierson 1905-07 W. R. Crabtree 1907-09 Thomas Clarkson Thompson 1909-15 Jesse M. Littleton 1915-19 Alexander W. Chambliss 1919-23 Richard Hardy 1923-27 E. D. Bass 1927-47 Hugh Wasson 1947-51 Rudy Olgiati 1951-63 Ralph H. Kelley 1963-68 A. L. Bender 1969-71 S. Dean Peterson 1971 Robert Kirk Walker 1971-75 Charles A. Rose 1975-83 Gene Roberts 1983-97 Jon Kinsey 1997-2001 Bob Corker 2001-05 Ron Littlefield 2005-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1893: George W. Ochs, elected.
  • 1895: George W. Ochs, elected.
  • 1968 Dec 31: Ralph H. Kelley, resigned.
  • 1971 Jan 26: A. L. Bender, resigned.
  • 1997 Mar 4: Jon Kinsey, elected.

    Postmasters at Chattanooga, 1838-1986 (may be incomplete!)
    John P. Long 1838-45 David J. Carr 1845-52 William F. Ragsdale 1852-53 Harvey T. Phillips 1853-61 James R. Hood 1861-65 Elbert A. James 1865-69 Robert S. Kendrick 1869-72 Samuel Bard 1872-73 Robert S. Kendrick 1873-75 William F. Cate 1875-76 Thomas Taylor 1876-77 John T. Wilder 1877-82 Harry F. Griscorn 1882-85 George W. Martin 1885-89 John W. Stone 1889-93 Thomas J. Dement 1893-97 Robert S. Sharp 1897-1905 William S. Raulston 1905-13 John E. Conner 1913-16 John C. Shelton 1916 Archibald Nevins Sloan 1916-17 T. Charlton Howell 1917-21 Willard J. Springfield 1921-33 Ernest F. Dennis 1933-34 Ernest F. Dennis 1934-43 Robert T. Sterchi 1943-57 F. Todd Meacham 1957 Oliver M. Spence 1957-59 Oliver M. Spence 1959-65 Frank C. Moore 1965-67 Frank C. Moore 1967-86

    (annexed to Chattanooga 1930)

    Mayors of Riverview, 1925-29 (may be incomplete!)
    Samuel Estill Whitaker 1925-29

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/TN/ofc/chattanooga.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]