The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Charleston, South Carolina
Mayors, Intendants, Postmasters

Mayors of Charleston, 1836-2020 (may be incomplete!)
Robert Y. Hayne 1836-37 Henry Laurens Pinckney 1837-40 Jacob F. Mintzing 1840-42 John Schnierle 1842-46 Thomas Leger Hutchinson 1846-50 John Schnierle 1850-52 Thomas Leger Hutchinson 1852-55 William Porcher Miles 1855-57 Charles Macbeth 1857-65 Peter C. Gaillard 1865-68 William Wallace Burns 1868 Milton Cogswell 1868 George Washington Clark 1868-69 Gilbert Pillsbury 1869-71 Johann Andreas Wagener 1871-73 George I. Cunningham 1873-77 William W. Sale 1877-79 William Ashmead Courtenay 1879-87 George D. Bryan 1887-91 John F. Ficken 1891-95 James Adger Smyth 1896-1903 R. Goodwyn Rhett 1903-11 John P. Grace 1911-15 Tristram T. Hyde 1915-19 John P. Grace 1919-23 Thomas Porcher Stoney 1923-31 Burnet R. Maybank 1931-38 Henry W. Lockwood 1938-44 E. Edward Wehman, Jr. 1944-47 William McG. Morrison 1947-59 J. Palmer Gaillard, Jr. 1959-75 Arthur B. Schirmer, Jr. 1975 Joseph P. Riley, Jr. 1975-2016 John J. Tecklenburg 2016-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1840 Sep 7: Jacob F. Mintzing, elected.
  • 1841 Sep 6: Jacob F. Mintzing, elected.
  • 1842 Mar 14: Jacob F. Mintzing, died in office.
  • 1877 Dec 11: William W. Sale, elected.
  • 1887 Dec 13: George D. Bryan, elected.
  • 1903 Dec 8: R. Goodwyn Rhett, elected.
  • 1907 Dec 8: R. Goodwyn Rhett, elected.
  • 1944 Jun 5: Henry W. Lockwood, died in office.
  • 1959 Jun 9: William McG. Morrison, defeated.
  • 1999 Nov 2: Joseph P. Riley, Jr. (Dem), elected.
  • 2003: Joseph P. Riley, Jr., elected.
  • 2015 Nov 17: John J. Tecklenburg, elected.

    Intendants of Charleston, 1783-1836 (may be incomplete!)
    Richard Hutson 1783-85 Arnoldus Van der Horst 1785-86 John Grimké 1786-88 Rawlins Lowndes 1788-89 Thomas Jones 1789-90 Arnoldus Van der Horst 1790-92 John Huger 1792-94 John Bee Holmes 1794-95 John Edwards, Jr. 1795-97 Henry W. de Saussure 1797-99 Thomas Roper 1799-1801 John Ward 1801-02 David Deas 1802-03 John Drayton 1803-04 Thomas Winstanley 1804-05 Charles Cochran 1805-06 John Dawson, Jr. 1806-08 Benjamin Boyd 1808 William Rouse 1808-10 Thomas H. McCalla 1810-12 Thomas Bennett 1812-13 Thomas Rhett Smith 1813-15 Elias Horry 1815-17 John Geddes 1817-19 Daniel Stevens 1819-20 Elias Horry 1820-21 James Hamilton, Jr. 1821-22 John Geddes 1823-24 Samuel Prioleau 1824-25 Joseph Johnson 1825-27 John Gadsden 1827-29 Henry Laurens Pinckney 1829-30 James R. Pringle 1830-31 Henry Laurens Pinckney 1831-33 Edward W. North 1833-36

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1783 Sep 11: Richard Hutson, elected.
  • 1784 Sep 13: Richard Hutson, elected.
  • 1785 Sep 12: Arnoldus Van der Horst, elected.
  • 1786 Sep 11: John Grimké, elected.
  • 1787 Sep 10: John Grimké, elected.
  • 1788 Sep 7: John Grimké, elected.
  • 1788 Sep 15: John Grimké, resigned.
  • 1788 Sep 29: Rawlins Lowndes, elected.
  • 1790 Sep 13: Arnoldus Van der Horst, elected.
  • 1791 Sep 12: Arnoldus Van der Horst, elected.
  • 1792 Sep 10: John Huger, elected.
  • 1793 Sep 9: John Huger, elected.
  • 1794 Sep 22: John Bee Holmes, elected.
  • 1795 Sep 26: John Edwards, Jr., elected.
  • 1796 Sep 12: John Edwards, Jr., elected.
  • 1797 Sep 11: Henry W. de Saussure, elected.
  • 1798 Sep 10: Henry W. de Saussure, elected.
  • 1799 Sep 9: Thomas Roper, elected.
  • 1800 Sep 8: Thomas Roper, elected.
  • 1801 Sep 14: John Ward, elected.
  • 1802 Sep 13: David Deas, elected.
  • 1803 Sep 12: John Drayton, elected.

    Postmasters at Charleston, 1783-1981 (may be incomplete!)
    Thomas Hall 1783-91 Thomas W. Bacot 1791-1834 Alfred Huger 1834-67 Stanley G. Trott 1867-73 Benjamin A. Boseman 1873-81 William N. Taft 1881-85 Benjamin F. Huger 1885-87 Albert H. Mowry 1887-98 George I. Cunningham 1898-1902 Wilmot L. Harris 1902-13 Carl G. Willard 1913 Joseph M. Poulnot 1913-21 Samuel E. Hendry 1921-22 Edward H. Jennings 1922-35 Philip M. Clement 1935-46 Henry H. Cochran 1946 Edmund P. Grice, Jr. 1946-47 Edmund P. Grice, Jr. 1947-60 Roland F. Wooten, Jr. 1960-61 Roland F. Wooten, Jr. 1961-68 James Gorman Thomas, Jr. 1968-70 James Gorman Thomas, Jr. 1970-81

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1887 Mar 25: Benjamin F. Huger, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/SC/ofc/charleston.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]