The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania

Mayors of Wilkes-Barre, 1871-1964 (may be incomplete!)
Ira M. Kirkendal 1871-73 M. A. Kearney 1874-76 W. W. Loomis 1877-79 Thomas Broderick 1880-86 C. B. Sutton 1886-92 Francis M. Nichols 1892-93 Daniel L. Hart 1920-31 Charles N. Loveland as of 1933-37 Luther M. Kniffen as of 1953-56 Frank Slattery as of 1960-64

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1880: Thomas Broderick, elected.
  • 1883: Thomas Broderick, elected.
  • 1886 Feb 7: Thomas Broderick, died in office.
  • 1931 Nov 3: Daniel L. Hart, elected unopposed.

    Postmasters at Wilkes-Barre, 1795-1971 (may be incomplete!)
    Lord Butler 1795-1802 John Hollinbeck 1802-03 Ezekiel Hyde 1803-05 Jonathan Hancock 1805-08 Jacob Cist 1808-26 Andrew Beaumont 1826-32 William Ross 1832-35 Daniel Collings 1835-41 Anning O. Chahoon 1841-43 Joseph P. LeClere 1843-45 Eleazer B. Collings 1845-49 Steuben Butler 1849-53 John Richard 1853-54 Jacob Sorber 1854-58 Eleazer B. Collings 1858-61 Samuel M. Barton 1861-65 Edward H. Chase 1865-66 Peter Pursel 1866-69 Stewart Pearce 1869-77 Samuel M. Barton 1877 Douglass Smith 1877-82 Albert S. Orr 1882-85 Joseph K. Bogert 1885-87 Mary E. P. Bogert 1887-92 Lewis B. Landmesser 1892-96 Edward F. Bogert 1896-1900 Byron G. Hahn 1900-05 Jacob D. Laciar 1905-07 Thomas F. Heffernan 1907-16 Lawrence J. Casey 1916-21 William E. Mannear 1921-29 William E. Newhart 1929-31 Henry W. Merritt 1931-33 James J. Law 1933-34 James J. Law 1934-35 Edward J. Quinn 1935-36 Edward J. Quinn 1936-54 William W. Davis 1954 William W. Davis 1954-68 John T. Jones, Jr. 1968-71

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/wilkesbarre.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]