The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Mayors, Burgesses, Chief Burgesses, Postmasters

Mayors of West Chester, 1961-2013 (may be incomplete!)
Charles E. Lucas, Jr. 1961-65 Charles Andress 1965-69 J. Herbert Chambers 1970-77 Thomas A. Chambers 1978-81 Craig J. Milliken 1982-85 Thomas A. Chambers 1986-93 Clifford E. Debaptiste 1994-2001 Richard Yoder 2002-09 Carolyn Comitta 2010-

Burgesses of West Chester, 1895-1961 (may be incomplete!)
Marshall S. Way 1895-96 C. Westley Talbot 1897-99 John Thorp 1900-02 Charles H. Pennypacker 1903-05 Alfred P. Reid 1906-08 Plummer E. Jefferis 1909-13 J. Paul MacElree 1914-19 Fred Heed 1919 Channing Way 1919-21 Herman G. Hutt 1922-25 George J. Brinton 1926-37 George S. Dewees 1937-43 Ashton B. T. Smith 1943-49 Gibbons G. Cornwell 1950-53 Henry V. DeHaven 1954-57 Charles E. Lucas, Jr. 1958-61

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1919 May 14: J. Paul MacElree, resigned.
  • 1943 Oct 3: George S. Dewees, died in office.

    Chief Burgesses of West Chester, 1799-1894 (may be incomplete!)
    William Sharples 1799 Jacob Ehrenzeller 1800 Philip Derrick 1801 Jacob Ehrenzeller 1802 Richard M. Hannum 1803 Joshua Weaver 1804-05 William Bennett 1806 William Sharples 1807 Emmor Bradley 1808 George Worth 1809 Joshua Weaver 1810 William Sharples 1811 Jacob Ehrenzeller 1812-13 Joseph McClellan 1814 Daniel Hiester 1815-17 Jacob Ehrenzeller 1818-24 Ziba Pyle 1825 Jacob Ehrenzeller 1826 Ziba Pyle 1827-30 Thomas S. Bell 1831-33 William Williamson 1834-35 William Everhart 1836-37 Thomas S. Bell 1838-39 Joseph J. Lewis 1839-43 William Williamson 1844 Uriah V. Pennypacker 1845-46 William Darlington 1847 Uriah V. Pennypacker 1848-49 Francis James 1850 James H. Bull 1851 Townsend Eachus 1852-54 Joseph P. Wilson 1855-57 Francis Parke 1858 William B. Waddell 1859-60 Henry S. Evans 1861 William Darlington 1862-65 Wayne MacVeagh 1866 Jefferson Shaner 1866-77 Seneca Willauer 1878 James B. Wood 1879-85 Marshall S. Way 1886-94

    Postmasters at West Chester, 1901-70 (may be incomplete!)
    Harry G. Smith as of 1901 George J. Moses 1934-35 George J. Moses 1935-49 Joseph F. Sullivan 1949-51 Joseph F. Sullivan 1951-61 Thomas W. McIntyre 1961-63 Thomas W. McIntyre 1963-70

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/westchester.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]