The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Titusville, Pennsylvania
Mayors, Burgesses, Postmasters

Mayors of Titusville, 1866-1964 (may be incomplete!)
Joel N. Angier 1866-67 Henry Hinkley 1868-69 Frederick Bates 1870-71 Walter B. Roberts 1872 John Fertig 1873-75 David H. Mitchell 1876 David Emery 1877-78 William Barnsdale 1878-80 A. N. Perrin 1880-82 James H. Caldwell 1882-84 George Martbaler as of 1920 Charles B. Morgan as of 1927 William B. Griffin as of 1929 A. G. Bellen as of 1933 L. D. Fulton as of 1935-37 Chester C. Hampton as of 1953-56 C. M. Sonne as of 1960 Herbert E. Varnum as of 1964

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1955 May 17: Chester C. Hampton (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 1955 May 17: C. M. Sonne (Rep), nominated; Gordon Tracy (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Chester C. Hampton (Dem), elected; C. M. Sonne (Rep), defeated.

    Burgesses of Titusville, 1848-66 (may be incomplete!)
    Joseph L. Chase 1848 Jonathan Titus 1851 Samuel Silliman 1852 A. B. Hubbard 1853 J. M. Allen 1854 James Parker 1856 Joseph L. Chase 1857-59 Z. Wade 1860 John Moore 1861 N. Kingsland 1862 O. K. Howe 1863 F. W. Ames 1864-65 Joel N. Angier 1866

    Postmasters at Titusville, 1901-69 (may be incomplete!)
    Martin R. Rouse as of 1901 Ralph E. Seep 1933-35 Ralph E. Seep 1935-38 L. Pearle Seep 1938-40 L. Pearle Seep 1940-61 Edward A. Lynch 1961-62 Edward A. Lynch 1962-69

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/titusville.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]