The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Burgesses and Postmasters of Somerset, Pennsylvania

Burgesses of Somerset, 1923-60 (may be incomplete!)
David B. Sober as of 1923 Homer W. Hay as of 1960

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1941 Sep 9: Charles R. Blatt (Dem), nominated unopposed, but withdrew.
  • 1941 Sep 9: H. Everett Musser (Rep), nominated; John W. Schrock (Rep), defeated in primary; A. C. Waterman (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1941 Nov 4: H. Everett Musser (Rep), elected; John W. Schrock (Dem), defeated.

    Postmasters at Somerset, 1797-1971 (may be incomplete!)
    Josiah Espy 1797-1801 Joseph Parks 1801-02 John Campbell 1802-04 Otho Strader 1804-05 John Sullivan 1805 Michael Hugus 1806-07 James Clark 1807-21 John Webster 1821-34 Daniel Weyand 1834-41 Michael A. Sanner 1841 Gillian Lint 1841-45 William P. Ankeny 1845-49 Joseph Cummins 1849 William J. Schill 1849-53 Harvey C. Marks 1853-60 Nathaniel Horn 1860 George W. Benford 1860-61 Harriet Ogle 1861-77 Augustus C. Davis 1877-85 Jacob K. Coffroth 1885-90 Josiah Keller 1890-94 Solomon Uhl 1894-98 Catherine A. Endsley 1898-1907 Freeman J. Hoffman 1907-11 John A. Lambert 1911-15 Alexander B. Grof 1915-26 Dan W. Weller 1926-31 Ross C. Pugh 1931-32 Oscar F. Sutliffe 1932-55 Clyde R. Bowman 1955-56 George Cassett 1956-71

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/somerset.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]