The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Scranton, Pennsylvania

Mayors of Scranton, 1866-1962 (may be incomplete!)
Elliot S. M. Hill 1866-69 William N. Monies 1869-72 Mathew W. Loftus 1872-75 Robert H. McKune 1875-78 Terence Powderly 1878-84 Frank A. Beamish 1884-86 Ezra H. Ripple 1886-90 John H. Fellows as of 1892 J. Benjamin Dimmick as of 1906-09 Alexander T. Connell as of 1920 Edmund B. Jermyn as of 1927 Fred K. Derby 1930 Stanley J. Davis 1933-37 Fred J. Huester 1937 James T. Hanlon as of 1953-60 William T. Schmidt as of 1962

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1866: Elliot S. M. Hill (Dem), elected; Joseph Godfrey (Rep), defeated.
  • 1906 Feb 20: J. Benjamin Dimmick (Rep), elected.

    Postmasters at Scranton, 1850-1971 (may be incomplete!)
    John W. Moore 1850-53 Joel Amsden 1853 Benjamin H. Throop 1853-57 Laton S. Fuller 1857-61 Douglas H. Jay 1861-64 A. Hampton Coursen 1864-66 William H. Pier 1866-69 James S. Slocum 1869-74 Joseph A. Scranton 1874-81 Edward C. Fuller 1881-85 Daniel W. Connolly 1885-89 David M. Jones 1889-93 Frank M. Vandling 1893-97 Ezra H. Ripple 1897-1909 John E. Barrett 1911-15 John J. Durkin 1915-22 Milton W. Lowry 1922 Milton W. Lowry 1922-30 Ezra H. Ripple, Jr. 1930-34 Joseph F. Conrad 1934 Joseph F. Conrad 1934-54 Bernard J. Harding 1954-55 Bernard J. Harding 1955-71

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1909 Nov 19: Ezra H. Ripple, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/scranton.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]