The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
McKeesport, Pennsylvania
Mayors, Burgesses, Postmasters

Mayors of McKeesport, 1906-2003 (may be incomplete!)
William H. Coleman as of 1906-09 George H. Lysle as of 1920-37 Frank Buchanan as of 1942 Charles A. Kincaid as of 1953 Andrew J. Jakomas as of 1954-62

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1929 Nov 5: George H. Lysle (Rep), elected; James C. Peairs (Dem), defeated; William P. Mikades (Communist), defeated.
  • 1933 Sep 19: John B. Sweeney (Dem), nominated; W. H. Chambers (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1933 Nov 7: George H. Lysle (Rep & Prohibition), elected; John B. Sweeney (Dem & Socialist), defeated; James A. Fulton, defeated.
  • 1941 Nov 4: Frank Buchanan (Dem), elected; George H. Lysle (Rep), defeated.
  • 2003 Nov 4: James R. Brewster (Dem), elected unopposed.

    Burgesses of McKeesport, 1842-88 (may be incomplete!)
    James R. Hendrickson 1842 William Cook 1843 Thomas Penney 1844 Theodore Marlin 1845 Thomas Penney 1846 Oliver Evans 1847 John Tritch 1848 Robert Shaw 1849 John Wilkinson 1850 J. B. Mitchell 1851 Hugh Rowland 1852 A. Atwater 1853 Thomas Carroll 1854 Thomas Lynch 1855 Hugh Rowland 1856 William H. Hill 1857 Robert Shaw 1858 Thomas Penney 1859-60 James H. Berry 1861 J. W. Patterson 1862-63 Lewis Harvey 1864 William Atwater 1865 James R. Hendrickson 1866-67 A. W. Lukens 1868-70 James F. Ryan 1871 W. P. Wampler 1872-73 James F. Ryan 1874 W. P. Wampler 1875 F. Houghton 1876-77 J. W. Scott 1878-79 Alonzo Innskeep 1880-82 Thomas Tillbrook 1883-84 B. B. Coursin 1885 W. W. Hunter 1886 B. B. Coursin 1887 James A. McLure 1888

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1842 Sep 6: James R. Hendrickson, elected.

    Postmasters at McKeesport, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    William E. Harrison as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/mckeesport.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]