The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Mayors, Chief Burgesses, Postmasters

Mayors of Lancaster, 1818-2013 (may be incomplete!)
John Passmore 1818-20 Samuel Carpenter 1821-23 Nathaniel Lightner 1824-30 John Mathiot 1831-43 Michael Carpenter 1843-51 Christian Kieffer 1852-54 Jacob Alrights 1855 John Zimmerman 1856-57 Thomas H. Burrowes 1858 George Sanderson 1859-68 William Atlee 1869-71 Fredrick Pyfer 1871-73 William Stauffer 1873-77 John MacGonigle 1877-84 David Rosenmiller 1884-86 William Morton 1886-88 Edward Edgerly 1888-90 Robert Clark 1890-94 Edwin Smeltz 1894-98 Simon Shissler 1898-99 Henry E. Muhlenberg 1899-1902 Chester W. Cummings 1902-06 John Piersol McCaskey 1906-10 Frank B. McClain 1910-15 Harry L. Trout 1915-20 Horace E. Kennedy 1920-22 Frank C. Musser 1922-30 T. Warren Metzger 1930-34 James H. Ross 1934-38 Dale E. Cary 1938-50 Kendig C. Bare 1950 Howard Bare 1950-51 Kendig C. Bare 1951-58 Thomas J. Monaghan 1958-62 George B. Coe 1962-66 Thomas J. Monaghan 1966-74 Richard M. Scott 1974-79 Albert B. Wohlsen, Jr. 1979-80 Arthur E. Morris 1980-90 Janice C. Stork 1990-98 Charlie Smithgall 1998-2006 Rick Gray 2006-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1843 Jan 22: John Mathiot, died in office.
  • 1906 Feb 20: John Piersol McCaskey (Rep), elected; Milton T. Gavin (Dem), defeated.
  • 1911: Frank B. McClain, elected.
  • 1915 Jan 6: Frank B. McClain, resigned.
  • 2001 May 15: Ed Ruoff (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 2001 May 15: Charlie Smithgall (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 2001 Nov 6: Charlie Smithgall (Rep), elected; Ed Ruoff (Dem), defeated.
  • 2005 May 17: Rick Gray (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 2005 May 17: Charlie Smithgall (Rep), nominated; Luis A. Mendoza (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 2005 Nov 8: Rick Gray (Dem), elected; Charlie Smithgall (Rep), defeated.
  • 2009 May 19: Rick Gray (Dem), nominated unopposed.
  • 2009 May 19: Charlie Smithgall (Rep), nominated unopposed.
  • 2009 Nov 3: Rick Gray (Dem), elected; Charlie Smithgall (Rep), defeated.

    Chief Burgesses of Lancaster, 1742-1818 (may be incomplete!)
    Thomas Cookson 1742-43 John Dehuff 1744 Thomas Cookson 1745-49 Adam Simon Kuhn 1750-56 Samuel Boude 1757-58 John Hopson 1759-60 Samuel Boude 1761 James Bickham 1762-63 William Bowman 1764 James Burd 1765 Michael Hubley 1766-67 James Ralffe 1768-69 William Atlee 1770-73 William Bausman 1774-77 Henry Dehuff 1778-79 Paul Zantzinger 1780 William Parr 1781-82 Henry Dehuff 1783-85 Jacob Reigart 1786 Henry Dering 1787-88 Edward Hand 1789-90 Paul Zantzinger 1791-94 Adam Reigart 1795-96 Paul Zantzinger 1797-98 John Miller 1799 William Reichenback 1800 Frederick Steinman 1801 William Reichenback 1802 John Light 1803-04 John Eberman 1805-06 John Messenkop 1807-09 Adam Reigart 1810-15 Samuel Carpenter 1816-18

    Postmasters at Lancaster, 1788-1970 (may be incomplete!)
    Samuel Turbett 1788-93 John Stone 1793-95 Henry Willcocks 1795-96 Mathias Slough 1796 William Hamilton 1796-98 George Moore 1798-1809 Ann Moore 1809-29 Mary Dickson 1829-50 George W. Hamersly 1850-53 Henry M. Reigart 1853-56 Hiram B. Swarr 1856-61 John J. Cochran 1861-66 Jay Cadwell 1866-67 Henry W. Hager 1867-72 Ellen H. Hager 1872-76 James H. Marshall 1876-85 Henry E. Slaymaker 1885-89 Ellwood Griest 1889-94 John E. Malone 1894-98 Ellwood Griest 1898-1900 Adam C. Reinoehl 1900 S. Clay Miller 1901-09 Henry L. Trout 1909-13 Louis N. Spencer 1913-22 Edwin L. Whitson 1922-26 John M. Groff 1926 Charles H. Stormfeltz 1926-34 Charles M. Howell 1934-35 Charles M. Howell 1935-47 Frank R. Hammond 1947-49 Frank R. Hammond 1949-68 Robert E. Buckwalter 1968-70

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1900 Dec 14: Adam C. Reinoehl, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/lancaster.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]