The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania
including Mauch Chunk, East Mauch Chunk
Burgesses, Postmasters

Burgesses of Jim Thorpe, 1960 (may be incomplete!)
James F. Walker as of 1960

Postmasters at Jim Thorpe, 1954-72 (may be incomplete!)
Harold W. Richards 1954-55 Harold W. Richards 1955-72

Mauch Chunk
(merged into Jim Thorpe 1954)

Burgesses of Mauch Chunk, 1923 (may be incomplete!)
J. Martin Ross as of 1923

Postmasters at Mauch Chunk, 1819-1954 (may be incomplete!)
Erskine Hazard 1819-26 Josiah White 1826-32 John Leisenring 1832-42 Alexander Stedman 1842-49 James Miller 1849-50 Alexander W. Leisenring 1850-52 Eliza Cooper 1852-60 John L. Cooper 1860 Jane F. Righter 1860-80 Nathan D. Cortright, Jr. 1880-89 Julius A. Remmel 1889-94 Frank P. Sharkey 1894-95 George W. Esser 1895-99 Edwin F. Luckenbach 1899-1912 William R. Butler 1912-13 William C. Kreider 1913-22 Harry Zanders 1922-26 Emma Zanders 1926 Emma Zanders 1926-34 Warden J. Dugan 1934-39 George W. Smith 1939-54

East Mauch Chunk
(merged into Jim Thorpe 1954)

Burgesses of East Mauch Chunk, 1923 (may be incomplete!)
C. C. Milan as of 1923

Postmasters at East Mauch Chunk, 1879-1901 (may be incomplete!)
E. R. Cook as of 1879 D. P. Hughes as of 1901

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/jimthorpe.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
  More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
  If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]