The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Hazleton, Pennsylvania
Mayors, Burgesses, Postmasters

Mayors of Hazleton, 1892-2010 (may be incomplete!)
N. L. Gavitt 1892 Henry W. Heidenreich 1918-20 James G. Harvey as of 1927-30 R. Alvan Beisel as of 1933-35 James P. Costello as of 1937 Edward J. Bonin 1951 William Steele as of 1953 Henry E. Dietrich as of 1954 S. Thomas Capparell as of 1955-60 Joseph B. Conahan as of 1962 Lou Barletta 2000-10

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1917 Nov 6: Henry W. Heidenreich, elected unopposed.
  • 1999: Lou Barletta, elected.
  • 2003: Lou Barletta, elected.
  • 2007: Lou Barletta, elected.

    Burgesses of Hazleton, 1857-91 (may be incomplete!)
    Abraham Jones 1857-58 Ezra C. Vincent 1858-59 R. F. Russell 1859-60 Lewis Lubrecht 1860-61 Ezra C. Vincent 1861-62 Frederick Knyrim 1862-63 R. F. Russell 1863-64 Peter Breihoff 1864-65 Thomas E. McNair 1865-67 Thomas N. Smith 1867-68 Peter Heidenreich 1868-69 John A. Barton 1869-70 Charles F. Hill 1870-71 J. E. Ulman 1871-72 Joseph P. Salmon 1872-74 Gotlieb Ulmer 1875-76 John Pfoutz 1876-81 Reuben T. Kreider 1881-82 John Knies 1882-83 A. R. Longshore 1883-84 Emanuel Dunn 1884-86 A. R. Longshore 1886-87 John Schwartz 1887-88 A. R. Longshore 1888-90 Philip Maue 1890-91 N. L. Gavitt 1891

    Postmasters at Hazleton, 1836-1974 (may be incomplete!)
    Lewis Davenport 1836-40 Campfield Harrison 1840-42 Lewis Davenport 1842-45 Williams A. Tubbs 1845-46 James W. Rhoads 1846-47 Lewis Davenport 1847-53 Williams A. Tubbs 1853-54 John H. Ruckman 1854-55 William Kisner 1855-59 John C. Fruit 1859-61 Sylvester D. Engle 1861 Jacob E. Babcock 1861-68 Henry Gliem 1868-69 James James 1869-85 James B. Hutchison 1885-90 Bide W. Wilde 1890-94 Elliott P. Kisner 1894-95 George H. Martin 1895-98 William M. Powell 1898-1905 William D. Gerlach 1905-14 Hugh McKenna 1914-20 Dena McKenna 1920-22 Thomas H. Probert 1922-33 Pasco Schiavo 1933 Charles A. Hanlon 1933-34 Charles A. Hanlon 1934-54 Harry F. Leuthold 1954-56 James F. Timony 1956-74

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/hazleton.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]