The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Hamburg, Pennsylvania
Burgesses, Chief Burgesses, Postmasters

Burgesses of Hamburg, 1900-60 (may be incomplete!)
John R. Wagner 1900-03 Thomas M. Raubenhold 1903-06 Frank M. Nice 1906-09 Thomas M. Raubenhold 1909-12 Stephen S. Sousley as of 1923 Archibald R. Judd as of 1960

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1906 Feb 20: Frank M. Nice (Dem), elected; Wilson E. Schmick (Rep), defeated.

    Chief Burgesses of Hamburg, 1867-1900 (may be incomplete!)
    John Sunday 1867-68 James Prutzman 1869-71 Reuben F. Seidel 1872-73 John Sunday 1874-75 Jacob Geiger 1876 Fred Gordfleck 1877-78 John A. Tobias 1879 Reuben F. Seidel 1880 William Harris 1881-82 Solomon K. Dreibelbis 1883 Alton F. Luburg 1884 Solomon K. Dreibelbis 1885-86 Alton F. Luburg 1887 Jonathan B. Potteiger 1888 Christian Baum 1889 Frank R. Wagner 1890-91 J. Albert Sunday 1892 Thomas M. Raubenhold 1893 William K. Miller 1894-97 Alton F. Luburg 1897-1900

    Postmasters at Hamburg, 1798-1973 (may be incomplete!)
    Francis Artilla 1798-1808 Abraham Wolff 1809 Henry Fister 1809-30 John Shenk 1830-41 William Feather 1841-45 John Kirkpatrick 1845 Charles Benseman 1845-51 John F. Roads 1851-53 Daniel Wolff 1853-61 George Shollenberger 1861-65 Peter S. Haintz 1865-77 Milton Ludwig 1877-78 Maurice M. Lenhart 1878-81 Elias Shomo 1881-82 Henry Rothenberger 1882-85 William Harris 1885-89 Allen L. Shomo 1889-94 B. Frank Bean 1894-98 Abel H. Byers 1898-1915 Daniel R. Dunkel 1915-23 Allen L. Shomo 1923-24 Allen L. Shomo 1924-32 Oscar L. Lenhart 1932 William J. Geary 1932-33 John H. Wertley 1933-34 Robert A. Rupp 1934-63 Wayne L. Balthaser 1963-65 Wayne L. Balthaser 1965-73

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1932 Aug 4: Allen L. Shomo, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/hamburg.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]