The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Erie, Pennsylvania
including South Erie
Mayors, Burgesses, Postmasters

Mayors of Erie, 1851-2010 (may be incomplete!)
Thomas C. Colt 1851 Murray Whallon 1852 Alfred King 1853-54 Wilson Laird 1855-56 James Hoskinson 1857 Wilson Laird 1858 Sherburn Smith 1859-61 Prescott Metcalf 1862-64 F. F. Farrar 1865 William L. Scott 1866 Orange Noble 1867-70 William L. Scott 1871 Charles M. Reed 1872-73 Henry Rawle 1874-75 John W. Hammond 1876 Shelden Marvin 1877 David T. Jones 1878-80 Joseph McCarter 1881-82 Philip A. Becker 1883-84 F. F. Adams 1885 F. A. Misner 1886 John C. Brady 1887-88 Charles S. Clarke 1889-92 Walter Scott 1893-95 Robert J. Saltsman 1896-98 John Depinet 1899-1901 William Hardwick 1902-04 Robert J. Saltsman 1905-06 Michael Liebel, Jr. 1907-11 William J. Stern 1911-15 Miles B. Kitts 1916-24 Joseph C. Williams 1924-32 James P. Rossiter 1932-36 Charles R. Barber 1936-47 Gale Ross 1947-48 Sherman Hickey, Jr. 1948 Joseph C. Martin 1948-49 Clairence K. Pulling 1950-52 Thomas W. Flatley 1952-54 George J. Brabender 1954-55 Arthur J. Gardner 1955-62 Charles B. Williamson 1962-66 Louis J. Tullio 1966-89 Patricia Liebel 1989 Joyce A. Savocchio 1990-2001 Richard E. Filippi 2002-05 Joseph E. Sinnott 2006-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1898: John Depinet, elected.
  • 1906: Robert J. Saltsman, died in office.
  • 1912: Robert F. Devine, defeated.
  • 1916: Bernard J. Veit, elected, but died before taking office.
  • 1935: Charles R. Barber, elected.
  • 1939: Charles R. Barber, elected.
  • 1943: Charles R. Barber, elected.
  • 1951 Nov 6: Thomas W. Flatley (Dem), elected; Clairence K. Pulling (Rep), defeated.
  • 1954 Dec 14: Thomas W. Flatley, resigned.
  • 1955 May 17: Arthur J. Gardner (Dem), nominated; James T. Hogan (Dem), defeated in primary; Harold W. Kinter (Dem), defeated in primary; Joseph J. Liebert (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1955 May 17: Herbert Foster (Rep), nominated; Charles D. Cowley (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Arthur J. Gardner (Dem), elected; Herbert Foster (Rep), defeated.
  • 1959 May 19: Arthur J. Gardner (Dem), nominated; Harold W. Kinter (Dem), defeated in primary; Joseph J. Brennan (Dem), defeated in primary; Gus G. Pulakos (Dem), defeated in primary; William C. Podbielski (Dem), defeated in primary; John M. Crane (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1959 May 19: John W. English (Rep), nominated; Charles B. Williamson (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1959 Nov 3: Arthur J. Gardner (Dem), elected; John W. English (Rep), defeated.
  • 1989: Patricia Liebel (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1989 Nov 10: Louis J. Tullio, resigned.

    Burgesses of Erie, 1806-50 (may be incomplete!)
    John C. Wallace 1806 Thomas Wilson 1807 George Beuhler 1808-09 John C. Wallace 1810-11 Samuel Hays 1812 Judah Colt 1813 George Moore 1814-15 Thomas H. Sill 1816-17 George Moore 1818-19 Judah Colt 1820-21 John Morris 1822-24 John C. Wallace 1825-27 Tabor Beebe 1828 Thomas H. Sill 1829 William Johns 1830 George A. Elliot 1831 Tabor Beebe 1832 Thomas H. Sill 1833-34 Joseph M. Sterrett 1835 J. B. Langhead 1836-37 James H. White 1838 William Kelley 1839 Myron Goodwin 1840 Rubus S. Reed 1841 Thomas Stewart 1842 Thomas H. Sill 1843-44 Charles W. Kelso 1845 William Kelley 1846-47 Charles W. Kelso 1848 A. W. Brewster 1849 B. B. Vincent 1850

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1806 May 5: John C. Wallace, elected.

    Postmasters at Erie, 1811-1980 (may be incomplete!)
    Robert Knox 1811-28 James Hughs 1828-33 Robert Cochran 1833-40 Smith Jackson 1840-41 Andrew Scott 1841-45 Robert Cochran 1845-49 Thomas H. Sill 1849-53 Benjamin F. Sloan 1853-61 Joseph M. Sterrett 1861-69 Isaac B. Gara 1869-76 Thomas M. Walker 1876-79 Isaac Moorhead 1879-81 Edmund W. Reed 1881-85 Henry C. Shannon 1885-89 John C. Hilton 1889-94 Charles S. Clarke 1894-98 Isador Sobel 1898-1914 John T. Brew 1914-17 Samuel L. Gibson 1917 Turner W. Shacklett 1918 Joseph A. Hanley 1918-33 Herbert A. Schlaudecker 1933-35 Herbert A. Schlaudecker 1935 Charles H. Schloss 1935-36 Charles H. Schloss 1936-68 Stanley P. Dombroski 1968-70 Stanley P. Dombroski 1970-80

    South Erie
    (annexed to Erie about 1870)

    Burgesses of South Erie, 1866-70 (may be incomplete!)
    William Henry 1866-70

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/erie.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]