The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Corry, Pennsylvania

Mayors of Corry, 1866-1962 (may be incomplete!)
W. H. L. Smith 1866-67 S. A. Bennett 1867-68 R. A. Palmer 1868-69 F. S. Barney 1869-70 M. Crosby 1870-72 F. A. Phillips 1872-73 A. F. Kent 1873-74 B. Ellsworth 1874-75 T. A. Allen 1875-79 F. Stanford 1879-81 J. D. Bentley 1881-82 T. A. Allen 1882-83 Isaac Colegrove 1884-85 J. L. Hatch 1886 W. C. Shields 1887 W. E. Marsh 1888 A. F. Bole 1889 Eli Barlow 1890 J. M. Lambing 1891-92 A. B. Osborne 1893-94 R. N. Seavor 1895 Byron H. Phelps 1896-97 Nathaniel Stone 1897-1900 Richard P. Dawson 1900-03 Frank L. Bliss 1903-06 Guy D. Heath 1906-09 Cassius L. Alexander 1909-13 John B. Patterson 1914-17 Cassius L. Alexander 1918-25 Olin W. Bracken 1926-29 Cassius L. Alexander 1929-31 Frank T. England 1931 Benjamin F. Starr 1932 Frank T. England 1932 Glen Miller as of 1933-35 F. E. Hepler as of 1937 J. Fred Kinley as of 1953 Earl T. Cherry as of 1954-56 J. Fred Kinley as of 1960 Philip Zalzneck as of 1962

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1909: Cassius L. Alexander, elected.
  • 1913 Nov 4: John B. Patterson, elected; George B. Ream, defeated.
  • 1917 Nov 6: Cassius L. Alexander, elected unopposed.
  • 1921: Cassius L. Alexander, elected.
  • 1925: Olin W. Bracken, elected.
  • 1929: Cassius L. Alexander, elected.
  • 1931 Jun 9: Cassius L. Alexander, died in office.
  • 1931 Nov 3: Benjamin F. Starr, elected.
  • 1932 Jul 27: Benjamin F. Starr, died in office.

    Postmasters at Corry, 1879-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    O. E. Gleason as of 1879 John F. Austin as of 1899-1901 Harry Auer 1933-36 James P. Sullivan 1936 James P. Sullivan 1936-64 Richard Charles McLaughlin 1964-65 Richard Charles McLaughlin 1965-72

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/corry.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]