The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Chester, Pennsylvania

Mayors of Chester, 1866-2020 (may be incomplete!)
John Larkin, Jr. 1866-72 J. L. Forwood 1872-81 James Barton, Jr. 1881-84 J. L. Forwood 1884-87 Joseph R. T. Coates 1887-93 John B. Hinkson 1893-96 Crosby M. Black 1896-99 Daniel W. Jefferis 1899-1902 Howard H. Houston 1902-05 William H. Berry 1905 Samuel E. Turner 1906 Samuel R. Crothers 1906-08 David M. Johnson 1908-11 William Ward, Jr. 1911-15 Wesley S. McDowell 1915-19 William T. Ramsey 1920-24 Samuel E. Turner 1924-31 T. Woodward Trainer 1931-32 William Ward, Jr. 1932-39 Clifford H. Peoples 1939-43 Ralph F. Swarts 1943-56 Joseph L. Eyre 1956-63 James H. Gorbey 1964-67 John H. Nacrelli 1968-79 Joseph F. Battle, Jr. 1979-86 Willie Mae James Leake 1986-91 Barbara Bohannan-Sheppard 1992-95 Aaron Wilson 1996-98 Dominic F. Pileggi 1999-2002 Wendell N. Butler, Jr. 2002-12 John Linder 2012-16 Thaddeus Kirkland 2016-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1905 Dec 30: William H. Berry, resigned.
  • 1906 Feb 20: Samuel R. Crothers (Rep), elected.

    Postmasters at Chester, 1879-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    W. H. Martin as of 1879 Thomas H. Higgins as of 1899-1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/chester.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]