The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Burgesses and Postmasters of Chambersburg, Pennsylvania

Burgesses of Chambersburg, 1923-60 (may be incomplete!)
John K. Berger as of 1923 C. H. Pensinger as of 1927 Robert C. Vanderau as of 1933-37 T. L. Farner as of 1950-52 Horace A. Kottcamp as of 1954-56 Raymond Roof, Jr. as of 1960

Postmasters at Chambersburg, 1788-1972 (may be incomplete!)
John Martin 1788-90 Jeremiah Mahoney 1790-95 Patrick Campbell 1795-1802 John Brown 1802-18 Jacob Deckhert 1818-29 John Findlay 1829-38 William Gilmore 1838-41 George H. Harper 1841-42 David D. Durborau 1842-46 John McClintock 1846-49 Nicholas Pearse 1849-53 John Noel 1853-58 John Liggett 1858-61 John W. Deal 1861-66 Mathew P. Welsh 1866-69 John A. Seiders 1869-77 Daniel O. Gehr 1877-84 Edward W. Curriden 1884-86 James Sweney 1886-91 William M. McKnight 1891-95 Wilson R. Houser 1895-99 Moses A. Foltz 1899-1905 David Maclay 1905-08 Charles A. Suesserott 1908-16 Thomas Z. Minehart 1916 William Alexander 1916-21 David L. Greenawalt 1921 David L. Greenawalt 1921-25 Craig M. Fleming 1926 Craig M. Fleming 1926-34 George E. Diehl 1934-52 Howard W. Harrison 1952 Howard W. Harrison 1952-65 Glen G. Myers 1965-66 George Richard Brindle 1966-68 George Richard Brindle 1968-72

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1838 Nov 5: John Findlay, died in office.
  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/chambersburg.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]