The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Altoona, Pennsylvania
including Juniata
Mayors, Chief Burgesses, Postmasters, Burgesses

Mayors of Altoona, 1868-1971 (may be incomplete!)
George Potts 1868-72 David Kinch 1872-74 D. A. Gilland 1874-78 Thomas Hurd 1878-80 William T. Howard 1880-84 C. J. Mann 1884-86 S. J. Breth 1886-88 E. H. Turner 1888-90 Theodore Burchfield 1890-93 Samuel M. Hoyer 1893-96 H. C. Barr 1896-99 Ellsworth F. Giles 1899-1902 Samuel M. Hoyer 1902-05 S. H. Walker 1905-08 Samuel M. Hoyer 1908-11 S. H. Walker 1911-13 Charles E. Rhodes as of 1920 Ellsworth F. Giles as of 1927 John J. McMurray as of 1929-33 J. Harry Moser as of 1935-37 J. Lester Laughlin 1950-51 Walter H. Grove 1952-55 Robert W. Anthony 1956 Roy F. Thompson as of 1960 William H. Prosser as of 1964 Andronic Pappas as of 1971

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1951: Walter H. Grove (Rep), nominated; J. Lester Laughlin (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1951 Nov 6: Walter H. Grove (Rep), elected.
  • 1955 May 17: Robert W. Anthony (Dem), nominated; Thomas M. Shute (Dem), defeated in primary; John Milliron (Dem), defeated in primary.
  • 1955 May 17: J. Lester Laughlin (Rep), nominated; Walter H. Grove (Rep), defeated in primary.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Robert W. Anthony (Dem), elected; J. Lester Laughlin (Rep), defeated.

    Chief Burgesses of Altoona, 1854-68 (may be incomplete!)
    George W. Patton 1854-55 Thomas McCauley 1856 James Lowther 1857 Enos M. Jones 1858-59 W. C. McCormick 1860-61 John Allison 1862-63 William Leonard 1864-65 John Baer 1866 Henry C. Dern 1866 Henry Fettinger 1867-68

    Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1854 Mar 10: George W. Patton, elected.

    Postmasters at Altoona, 1850-1978 (may be incomplete!)
    George C. Ferree 1850-52 Thomas Elway 1852-53 Henry A. Sellers 1853-56 John Shoemaker 1856-61 George W. Patton 1861-69 Frank B. Stewart 1869-77 Theodore Blair Patton 1877-91 Albert P. MacDonald 1891-96 Hambleton P. Wilson 1896-1905 George Fox 1905-13 Ellsworth F. Giles 1913-22 Jay E. Brumbaugh 1922-33 Arthur B. Clark 1933-34 Arthur B. Clark 1934-38 Paul V. Tillard 1938-40 Paul V. Tillard 1940-53 Bruce Crumm 1953-54 Bruce Crumm 1954-65 Robert W. Anthony 1965-67 Robert W. Anthony 1967-78

    (annexed to Altoona 1929)

    Burgesses of Juniata, 1923 (may be incomplete!)
    Blair N. Boyles as of 1923

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/altoona.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]