The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Aliquippa, Pennsylvania
including Woodlawn
Burgesses, Postmasters

Burgesses of Aliquippa, 1923-60 (may be incomplete!)
George L. Reid as of 1923 John C. Wiegel as of 1927 A. W. Coombe as of 1929 Morgan H. Sohn as of 1933-35 George L. Kiefer as of 1937 Louis Fontana as of 1950-52 Arthur D. Tracy as of 1953 James Bruno as of 1954-60

Postmasters at Aliquippa, 1895-1988 (may be incomplete!)
Joseph Stubert as of 1895-97 J. W. Hall as of 1899 Maggie Brown as of 1901 Sarah V. Patton as of 1911 Wilfred R. Troxel 1928-36 Philip Joseph McNally 1936-37 Eleanor E. McNally 1937 Eleanor E. McNally 1937-54 Earl S. Cummings 1954 Earl S. Cummings 1954-66 Gino Piroli 1966-68 Gino Piroli 1968-88

(consolidated with Aliquippa 1928)

Burgesses of Woodlawn, 1923 (may be incomplete!)
Arthur W. Coombs as of 1923

Postmasters at Woodlawn, 1877-1928 (may be incomplete!)
C. I. McDonald 1877-80 Robert W. Anderson 1880-82 Thomas A. Torrence 1882-86 James C. Ritchie 1886-89 Thomas A. Torrence 1889-92 John DeHaven 1892-94 Anna M. Wilker 1894-96 Mattie V. Ritchie 1896-1900 Joseph M. Irons 1900-02 Fred L. Todd 1902-11 William G. Cochran 1911-15 Christian Henderson 1915-22 Robert C. Simpson 1922-28 Wilfred R. Troxel 1928

"Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
The Political Graveyard

The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
  The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
  The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
  Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
  The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/PA/ofc/aliquippa.html .  
  Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
  If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]