The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Salem, Oregon

Mayors of Salem, 1860-2003 (may be incomplete!)
Lucien Heath 1860-61 E. N. Cooke 1862 Henry M. Thatcher 1863 H. Moores 1864 Q. Wilson 1865 John H. Moores 1866-68 Lyman S. Scott 1869-70 W. Smith 1871 Daniel Payton 1872 A. Monroe 1873 John G. Wright 1874-76 T. M. Gatch 1877-78 C. W. Gray 1879 T. B. Wait 1880 W. Crawford 1881-82 Andrew Kelly 1883-84 W. W. Skinner 1885-86 William M. Ramsey 1887 J. J. Murphy 1888 George Williams 1889-90 P. H. D'Arcy 1891-92 Claude Gatch 1893-96 J. A. Richardson 1897-98 Charles R. Bishop 1899-1903 F. W. Waters 1904-06 G. F. Rodgers 1907-10 Louis Lachmund 1911-12 C. Siegmund 1913 B. L. Steeves 1914 H. O. White 1915-16 Walter Keyes 1917-18 C. E. Albin 1919 O. Wilson 1920 G. E. Halvorsen 1921-22 I. B. Giesy 1923-26 Thomas A. Livesley 1927-30 P. M. Gregory 1931-32 Douglas McKay 1933-34 V. E. Kuhn 1935-38 W. W. Chadwick 1939-43 I. M. Doughton 1943-46 Robert L. Elfstrom 1947-50 Alfred W. Loucks 1951-54 Robert F. White 1955-58 Russell F. Bonesteele 1959-62 Willard C. Marshall 1963-65 Vern W. Miller 1965-72 Robert E. Lindsey 1973-76 Kent L. Aldrich 1977-82 Sue Harris Miller 1983-88 Thomas Nielsen 1989-90 R. G. Andersen-Wyckoff 1991-94 Roger Gertenrich 1994-96 Mike Swaim 1997-2002 Janet Taylor 2003-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1965 Aug 1: Willard C. Marshall, resigned.

    Postmasters at Salem, 1849-1982 (may be incomplete!)
    John B. McClane 1849-51 Turner Crump 1851-52 Alfred M. Belt 1852-53 Samuel Parker 1853 Milton Shannon 1853-55 Isaac R. Moores 1855-58 Nathan T. Caton 1858-60 Joseph K. Ashley 1860 John B. McClane 1860-61 John T. Hamilton 1861-65 Leroy S. Dyar 1865-69 Thomas B. Rickey 1869-76 Henry M. Thatcher 1876-79 Lyman S. Scott 1879-83 Allen B. Croasman 1883-84 William H. Odell 1884-89 Richard H. Dearborn 1889 Andrew N. Gilbert 1889-94 Benjamin F. Bonham 1894-98 Edward Hirsch 1898-1906 Squire Farrar 1906-13 August Huckestein 1913-22 John H. Farrar 1922-34 Henry R. Crawford 1934-45 Albert C. Gragg 1945-47 Albert C. Gragg 1947-64 Elmore D. Spencer 1964-65 Elmore D. Spencer 1965-82

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OR/ofc/salem.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]