The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Portland, Oregon

Mayors of Portland, 1851-2015 (may be incomplete!)
Hugh D. O'Bryant 1851-52 Allison C. Bonnell 1852 Simon B. Marye 1852-53 Josiah Failing 1853-54 William S. Ladd 1854-55 George W. Vaughn 1855-56 James O'Neill 1856-57 William S. Ladd 1857-58 A. M. Starr 1858-59 S. J. McCormick 1859-60 G. Collier Robbins 1860-61 John M. Breck 1861-62 William H. Farrar 1862-63 David Logan 1863-64 Henry Failing 1864-65 Thomas J. Holmes 1866-67 J. A. Chapman 1867-68 Hamilton Boyd 1868-69 Bernard Goldsmith 1869-71 Philip Wasserman 1871-73 Henry Failing 1873-75 J. A. Chapman 1875-77 William Spencer Newbury 1877-79 David P. Thompson 1879-81 J. A. Chapman 1882-85 John Gates 1885-88 Van B. DeLashmutt 1888-91 William S. Mason 1891-94 George P. Frank 1894-96 Sylvester Pennoyer 1896-98 William S. Mason 1898-99 William A. Storey 1899-1900 Henry S. Rowe 1900-02 George H. Williams 1902-05 Harry Lane 1905-09 Joseph Simon 1909-11 Allen G. Rushlight 1911-13 H. Russell Albee 1913-17 George L. Baker 1917-33 Joseph K. Carson, Jr. 1933-40 Earl Riley 1941-48 Dorothy McCullough Lee 1949-52 Fred L. Peterson 1953-56 Terry D. Schrunk 1957-72 Neil Goldschmidt 1973-79 Connie McCready 1979-80 Francis J. Ivancie 1980-84 J. E. 'Bud' Clark 1985-92 Vera Katz 1993-2004 Tom Potter 2005-08 Sam Adams 2009-12 Charlie Hales 2013-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1851 Apr 7: Hugh D. O'Bryant, elected; Joseph S. Smith, defeated.
  • 1852 Apr 5: Allison C. Bonnell, elected.
  • 1853 Apr 4: Josiah Failing, elected.
  • 1899 Mar 27: William S. Mason, died in office.
  • 1979 Aug 15: Neil Goldschmidt, resigned.
  • 2004 May 18: Jim Spagnola, defeated in primary.
  • 2012 Nov 6: Charlie Hales, elected; Jefferson D. Smith, defeated.

    Postmasters at Portland, 1849-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    Thomas Smith 1849-50 Edwin B. Comfort 1850-53 John O. Waterman 1853 Alonzo Leland 1853-54 Adam R. Shipley 1854-61 Herman W. Davis 1861-65 E. G. Randall 1865-69 Leland H. Wakefield 1869-73 George E. Cole 1873-81 George A. Steel 1881-85 Charles W. Roby 1885-89 George A. Steel 1889-94 Eugene C. Protzman 1894-98 Allen P. Croasman 1898-1903 Fred A. Bancroft 1903-04 John W. Minto 1904-09 John C. Young 1909-10 Charles B. Merrick 1910-12 William E. Williamson 1912-13 Frank S. Myers 1913-20 Robert H. Barclay 1920 John M. Jones 1920-34 Bernhard L. Hagemann 1934 Bernhard L. Hagemann 1934 Benjamin F. Cain 1934 Elof T. Hedlund 1934-35 Elof T. Hedlund 1935-53 Albert M. Hodler 1953-54 Albert M. Hodler 1954-68 Harold W. Morgan 1968-70 Harold W. Morgan 1970-72

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OR/ofc/portland.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]