The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Albany, Oregon

Mayors of Albany, 1865-2008 (may be incomplete!)
J. C. Powell 1865 E. F. Russell 1866-67 Jacob Norcross 1868 A. W. Stanard 1869-70 N. H. Cranor 1871 A. W. Sweeney 1872 Collins Van Cleve 1873 Martin V. Brown 1874 David Froman 1875 N. B. Humphrey 1876 Allen Parker 1877 Jason Wheeler 1878 Thomas Monteith 1879 David G. Clark 1880 David Froman 1881 Ira C. Dickey 1882 Walter M. Ketchum 1883 John Lindsey Hill 1884 Walter M. Ketchum 1885 J. K. Weatherford 1886-87 J. L. Cowan 1888-93 L. Flinn 1894-95 C. G. Burkhart 1896-99 W. H. Davis 1900-05 J. P. Wallace 1906-11 P. D. Gilbert 1912-13 L. M. Curl 1914-20 P. A. Young 1921-24 J. H. Robnett 1925-26 Mark V. Weatherford 1927-28 Virgil L. Calavan 1929-32 W. L. Jackson 1933-36 Charles R. Ashton 1937-39 A. G. Senders 1939-42 G. C. Knodell 1943-46 Ralph Banton 1947-48 Jess W. Savage 1949-50 Lyle M. Bain 1951-52 Charles K. McCormack 1953-56 William L. Fitzpatrick 1957-62 Larry D. Roth 1963-64 Russell W. Tripp 1965-70 Donald R. Catt 1971-72 Platt A. Davis 1973-74 David C. Hayes 1975-76 Leonard Roche 1977-78 Richard Olsen 1979-80 Donald Brudvig 1981-84 Tom Holman 1985-88 Keith J. Rohrbough 1989-92 Eugene Belhumeur 1993-94 Charles A. McLaran 1995-2006 Doug Killin 2007-08

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1926 Nov 2: Mark V. Weatherford, elected; J. H. Robnett, defeated.

    Postmasters at Albany, 1889-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Rufus Thompson as of 1889 S. S. Train as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OR/ofc/albany.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]