The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma

Mayors of Oklahoma City, 1889-2013 (may be incomplete!)
William L. Couch 1889 Andrew J. Beale 1889-90 D. W. Gibbs 1890 W. J. Gault 1890-92 Oscar A. Mitscher 1892-94 Nelson Button 1894-96 Charles G. Jones 1896-97 J. P. Allen 1897-99 Lee Van Winkle 1899-1901 Charles G. Jones 1901-03 Lee Van Winkle 1903-05 J. F. Messenbaugh 1905-07 Henry M. Scales 1907-10 Dan V. Lackey 1910-11 Whit M. Grant 1911-15 Edward Overholser 1915-18 Byron D. Shear 1918-19 Jack C. Walton 1919-23 Mike Donnelly 1923 Otto A. Cargill 1923-27 Walter C. Dean 1927-31 Clarence J. Blinn 1931-33 Tom McGee 1933-35 J. Frank Martin 1935-39 Robert A. Hefner 1939-47 Allen Street 1947-59 James H. Norick 1959-63 Jack S. Wilkes 1963-64 George H. Shirk 1964-67 James H. Norick 1967-71 Patience Latting 1971-83 Andrew Coats 1983-87 Ronald J. Norick 1987-98 Kirk Humphreys 1998-2003 Guy Liebmann 2003-04 Mick Cornett 2004-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1889 Nov 11: William L. Couch, resigned.
  • 1890: W. J. Gault, elected; Henry Overholser, defeated.
  • 1903 Apr 7: Lee Van Winkle (Dem), elected.
  • 1910 Apr 11: Henry M. Scales, resigned.
  • 1915: Edward Overholser, elected; William D. Gault, defeated.
  • 1919: Jack C. Walton, elected.
  • 1998: Kirk Humphreys, elected.
  • 2002: Kirk Humphreys, elected.
  • 2003 Nov 3: Kirk Humphreys, resigned.

    Postmasters at Oklahoma City, 1887-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    Samuel H. Radebaugh 1887-89 James McGranahan 1889 George A. Beidler 1889-94 John A. Flattery 1894-97 George A. Beidler 1897-98 Samuel Murphy 1898-1903 Elmer E. Brown 1903-11 Harlan G. Eastman 1911-15 Claude Weaver 1915-23 Elma Eylar 1923-24 William G. Johnston 1924-36 Frank L. Pierce 1936-37 Joe S. Morris 1937-44 Frederick M. Shaw 1944-50 Leroy W. Hamilton 1950 Frederick M. Shaw 1950-51 Frederick M. Shaw 1951-58 Frank E. Barr 1958 Henry D. Friend 1958-61 Norval W. Woodworth 1961 John H. McCasland 1961-62 John H. McCasland 1962-72

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OK/ofc/oklahomacity.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]