The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Youngstown, Ohio

Mayors of Youngstown, 1850-2012 (may be incomplete!)
John Heiner 1850-51 Robert W. Tayler 1851-52 Stephen F. Burnett 1852-53 William G. Moore 1853-55 William Rice 1855-56 Thomas W. Sanderson 1856-57 Reuben Carroll 1857-62 Peter W. Keller 1862-63 John Manning 1863 Thomas H. Wells 1863-64 Brainard S. Higley 1864-66 George McKee 1866-72 John D. Raney 1872-74 William M. Osborn 1874-76 Matthew Logan 1876-80 William J. Lawthers 1880-84 Walter L. Campbell 1884-86 Samuel A. Steele 1886-88 Randall Montgomery 1888-92 I. B. Miller 1892-96 Edmond H. Moore 1896-1900 Frank L. Brown 1900-02 W. T. Gibson 1903-05 Frank L. Baldwin 1906-07 Alvin W. Craver 1908-12 Fred A. Hartenstein 1912-16 Carroll Thornton 1916-18 Alvin W. Craver 1918-20 Fred J. Warnock 1920-22 George Oles 1922 William G. Reese 1922-23 Charles Scheible 1924-27 Joseph L. Heffernan 1928-31 Mark E. Moore 1932-35 Lionel Evans 1936-39 William B. Spagnola 1940-43 Ralph W. O'Neill 1944-47 Charles P. Henderson 1948-54 Frank X. Kryzan 1954-59 Frank R. Franko 1960-61 Harry N. Savesten 1962-63 Anthony B. Flask 1964-69 Jack Hunter 1970-78 J. Phillip Richley 1978-84 Patrick J. Ungaro 1984-97 George McKelvey 1997-2005 Jay Williams 2006-11 Chuck Sammarone 2011-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1850 Jun 15: John Heiner, elected.
  • 1851 Apr 7: Robert W. Tayler, elected.
  • 1852 Apr 5: Stephen F. Burnett, elected.
  • 1853 Apr 4: William G. Moore, elected.
  • 1854 Apr 3: William G. Moore, elected.
  • 1855 Apr 2: William Rice, elected.
  • 1856 Apr 7: Thomas W. Sanderson, elected.
  • 1857 Apr 6: Reuben Carroll, elected.
  • 1858: Reuben Carroll, elected.
  • 1859: Reuben Carroll, elected.
  • 1860: Reuben Carroll, elected.
  • 1861: Reuben Carroll, elected.
  • 1862 Apr 7: Peter W. Keller, elected.
  • 1863: John Manning, resigned.
  • 1863 Apr 6: John Manning, elected.
  • 1864 Apr 4: Brainard S. Higley, elected.
  • 1865 Apr 3: Brainard S. Higley, elected.
  • 1866 Apr 2: George McKee, elected.
  • 1867 Apr 1: George McKee, elected.
  • 1868 Apr 6: George McKee, elected.
  • 1870 Apr 4: George McKee, elected.
  • 1872 Apr 1: John D. Raney, elected.
  • 1874 Apr 6: William M. Osborn, elected.
  • 1876 Apr 3: Matthew Logan, elected.
  • 1878 Apr 1: Matthew Logan, elected.
  • 1880 Apr 5: William J. Lawthers, elected.
  • 1882 Apr 3: William J. Lawthers, elected.
  • 1937: Gus Hall (Communist), defeated.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Charles P. Henderson (Rep), elected.
  • 1955 Nov 8: Frank X. Kryzan (Dem), elected; J. Fred Knott (Rep), defeated.
  • 2001 Nov 6: George McKelvey (Dem), elected unopposed.
  • 2005 Nov 8: Jay Williams, elected; Robert F. Hagan (Dem), defeated; Maggy Lorenzi, defeated; Robert C. Korchnak (Rep), defeated; Brendan J. Gilmartin, defeated; Joe Louis Teague, defeated.

    Postmasters at Youngstown, 1801-1976 (may be incomplete!)
    Calvin Pease 1801-03 Charles Dutton 1803-13 Samuel White 1813-15 Charles Dutton 1815-18 William Rayen 1818-39 Asahel Medbury 1839-41 James Heylep 1841 Caleb B. Wick 1841-43 William Woodbridge 1843-45 Alexander McKinnie 1845-49 Jonathan Edwards 1849-53 Alexander McKinnie 1853-61 Thomas L. Moore 1861-68 Corydon B. Streeter 1868-76 Austin R. Seagrave 1876-81 George J. Williams 1881-85 Henry C. Cassidy 1885-89 Edward H. Hosmer 1889-93 George B. Snyder 1893-98 Onesimus P. Shaffer 1898-1913 George B. Snyder 1913-22 Benjamin E. Westwood 1922-34 John J. Farrell 1934-36 Carl Armstrong 1937 Alvin W. Craver 1938 Alvin W. Craver 1938-41 John E. Doyle 1941 John E. Doyle 1941-59 Chester W. Bailey 1959-60 Chester W. Bailey 1960-76

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/ofc/youngstown.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]