The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Wilmington, Ohio

Mayors of Wilmington, 1828-1949 (may be incomplete!)
Isaiah Morris 1828-30 David Stratton 1830-31 Warren Sabin 1831-32 Amos T. Sewell 1832-33 Thomas Hibben 1833-34 Samuel McCune 1834-35 Daniel Kelley 1835 Eli McGregor 1835-36 Griffith Foos 1836-37 Robert B. Harlan 1837-38 George S. Jenkins 1838-39 Robert B. Harlan 1839-40 Abraham E. Strickle 1840-41 Thomas Hibben 1841-42 Franklin Corwin 1842-44 William Fuller 1844-45 Robert B. Harlan 1845-46 Amos T. Sewell 1846-47 James E. Johnson 1853-54 Benajah W. Fuller 1854 Grafton B. White 1854-55 Alonzo C. Diboll 1855-57 Benajah W. Fuller 1857 William B. Fisher 1857-58 Joshua D. Hadley 1858-59 C. C. Harris 1859-60 L. F. Austin 1860-61 Andrew H. Chapman 1861 William B. Fisher 1861-63 Lewis C. Walker 1863-64 William B. Fisher 1864-65 LeRoy Pope 1865-66 John C. Moon 1866-67 LeRoy Pope 1867-68 Alonzo C. Diboll 1868-69 Nathan M. Linton 1869-70 Milton L. Ent 1870-71 Levi Mills 1871-72 David T. White 1872-74 Alonzo C. Diboll 1874-76 Melville Hayes 1876-80 Lewis J. Walker 1880-85 Frank B. Mills 1885-86 Z. A. A. Haworth 1886-88 A. W. Doan 1888-96 M. J. Grady 1896-1900 W. I. Stewart 1900-02 A. E. Clevenger 1902-04 W. H. Hartman 1904-12 Amos Huffman 1912-14 Charles Curl 1914-15

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1828 Mar 3: Isaiah Morris, elected.
  • 1829 Mar 2: Isaiah Morris, elected.
  • 1830 Mar 1: David Stratton, elected.
  • 1831 Mar 7: Warren Sabin, elected.
  • 1832 Mar 5: Amos T. Sewell, elected.
  • 1833 Mar 4: Thomas Hibben, elected.
  • 1834 Mar 1: Samuel McCune, elected.
  • 1835 Mar 2: Daniel Kelley, elected.
  • 1835 Oct 31: Daniel Kelley, resigned.
  • 1835 Nov 6: Eli McGregor, elected.
  • 1836 Mar 7: Griffith Foos, elected.
  • 1837 Mar 6: Robert B. Harlan, elected.
  • 1838 Mar 5: George S. Jenkins, elected.
  • 1839 Mar 6: Robert B. Harlan, elected.
  • 1840 Mar 10: Abraham E. Strickle, elected.
  • 1854 May 24: Benajah W. Fuller, resigned.
  • 1857 Mar 7: Alonzo C. Diboll, resigned.
  • 1857 Apr 6: William B. Fisher, elected.
  • 1858 Apr 14: Joshua D. Hadley, elected.
  • 1859 Apr 17: C. C. Harris, elected.
  • 1860 Apr 2: L. F. Austin, elected.
  • 1861 Apr 9: Andrew H. Chapman, elected.
  • 1861 Jul 26: Andrew H. Chapman, resigned.
  • 1863 Apr 6: Lewis C. Walker, elected.
  • 1864 Apr 4: William B. Fisher, elected.
  • 1865 Apr 6: LeRoy Pope, elected.
  • 1866 Apr 10: John C. Moon, elected.
  • 1867 Apr 9: LeRoy Pope, elected.
  • 1868 Apr 6: Alonzo C. Diboll, elected.
  • 1869 Apr 9: Nathan M. Linton, elected.
  • 1933 Nov 7: C. Q. Hildebrand (Rep), elected.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Malcolm K. Arthur (Rep), elected.

    Postmasters at Wilmington, 1901 (may be incomplete!)
    J. C. Smith as of 1901

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 315,917 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1971) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for TPG purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/ofc/wilmington.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on May 10, 2022.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]