The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Steubenville, Ohio
Mayors, Postmasters, U.S. Land Office officials

Mayors of Steubenville, 1873-1954 (may be incomplete!)
James Elliott, Jr. 1873-75 Walter C. Sterling as of 1949-53 Samuel McCormick as of 1954

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1901 Apr 2: John L. Means (Rep), elected.
  • 1933 Nov 7: J. C. McMaster (Rep), elected.
  • 1949 Nov 8: Walter C. Sterling (Rep), elected.

    Postmasters at Steubenville, 1802-1981 (may be incomplete!)
    John Galbraith 1802-14 David Larimore 1814-38 William Cable 1838-41 William Collins 1841-45 Whitacre O'Neal 1845-49 Francis A. Wells 1849-53 Thomas Brashears 1853-61 George B. Filson 1861-69 James M. Reed 1869-78 Frank O'Neal 1878-86 George Moore 1886-90 James F. Sarratt 1890-94 James Trotter 1894-98 Martin L. Miller 1898-1906 Alexander Sweeney 1906-12 Fannie L. D. Sweeney 1912 Richard Gilson 1912-16 Henry H. McFadden 1916-24 Richard Gilson 1924-26 Edna M. Gilson 1926-28 Edna M. Gilson 1928-36 Frank W. Feist 1936-39 Anna Belle Feist 1939-40 George W. Conroy 1940-61 Maurice Rothstein 1961-62 A. Cooper McCauslen 1962 A. Cooper McCauslen 1962-81

    Registers of U.S. Land Office at Steubenville, 1802-16 (may be incomplete!)
    David Hoge as of 1802-16

    Receivers of U.S. Land Office at Steubenville, 1802-19 (may be incomplete!)
    Zaccheus Biggs as of 1802 Peter Wilson as of 1816-19

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/ofc/steubenville.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]