The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Springfield, Ohio

Mayors of Springfield, 1861-1954 (may be incomplete!)
William David Hill 1861 W. R. Burnett as of 1892 Charles P. Baxter as of 1937 John H. Horstman as of 1953 Carleton Davidson as of 1954

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1901 Apr 2: M. L. Mulligan (Rep), elected.

    Postmasters at Springfield, 1804-1976 (may be incomplete!)
    Robert Rennick 1804-24 Maddox Fisher 1824-35 Peter A. Sprigman 1835-39 William Werden 1839-41 John A. Crain 1841-45 Cyrus D. McLaughlin 1845-50 Isaac Hendershott 1850-53 Cyrus D. McLaughlin 1853-55 William G. Boggs 1855-61 Richard Rogers 1861-66 James Johnson 1866-67 Ellen Sanderson 1867-77 John A. Shipman 1877-84 James Johnson 1884-87 Francis M. Hagan 1887-90 Pearl M. Cartmell 1890-94 Thomas D. Wallace 1894-98 James H. Rabbitts 1898-1910 William F. Bevitt 1910-14 Charles P. Dunn 1914-22 Joseph M. Collins 1922-35 Worthy A. Circle 1935-47 Paul J. Sheehan 1947-49 Hugh T. O'Keeffe 1949-50 Herbert A. Lannert 1950-63 Daniel J. Loney 1963-66 Joseph L. Dennison 1966-76

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/ofc/springfield.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]