The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Portsmouth, Ohio

Mayors of Portsmouth, 1815-1954 (may be incomplete!)
Thomas Waller 1815-22 John R. Turner 1822-23 Jacob Clingman 1823-25 John R. Turner 1825-30 Havillah Gunn 1830-31 Ezra Osborne 1831-34 Moses Gregory 1834-35 Silas W. Cole 1835-36 John R. Turner 1836-37 Richard H. Tomlin 1837-38 Edward Hamilton 1838-42 John McDowell 1842-44 Richard H. Tomlin 1844-46 George Johnson 1846-50 Benjamin Ramsey 1850-52 William Oldfield 1852-53 Adam Kerr 1853-55 John R. Turner 1855-57 John Vanmeter 1857-58 Adam Kerr 1858-65 John Wilson 1865-67 John M. Lynn 1867-71 John A. Turley 1871-73 George W. Flanders 1873-75 Samuel P. Nickells 1875-77 John M. Lynn 1877-79 Henry A. Towne 1879-81 George W. Crawford 1881-83 John J. McFarlin 1883-85 John A. Turley 1885-89 George A. Waller 1889-91 Henry Hall 1891-95 Volney R. Row 1895-97 Charles C. Glidden 1897-1901 Cread Milstead 1901 Chester H. Allen as of 1953 Harry E. Foehr as of 1954

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1858 Mar 4: John Vanmeter, resigned.
  • 1897 Apr 5: Charles C. Glidden (Dem), elected; Volney R. Row (Rep), defeated.
  • 1899 Apr 4: Charles C. Glidden (Dem), elected; C. C. Brown (Rep), defeated.
  • 1901 Apr 2: Cread Milstead (Rep), elected.
  • 1921 Nov 8: William N. Gableman (Dem), elected.

    Postmasters at Portsmouth, 1808-1973 (may be incomplete!)
    John Brown 1808-12 Thomas Waller 1812-23 John R. Turner 1823-29 James Lodwick 1829-42 William Kendall 1842-45 William P. Camden 1845-57 Margaret A. Camden 1857-61 Max J. Beeker 1861-63 John Row 1863-66 William R. Smith 1866-67 Oliver Wood 1867-69 Samuel P. Drake 1869 Oliver Wood 1869-73 Lovina Adair 1873-78 F. C. Gibbs 1878-82 Louis C. Damarin 1882-86 William K. Thompson 1886-90 Philo S. Clark 1890-94 John Jones 1894-98 Philo S. Clark 1898-1906 Charles E. Hard 1906-14 L. Vallee Harold 1914-23 William H. Harsha 1923-31 Harry A. Doerr 1931-36 Wesley J. Griver 1936 George L. Gableman 1936-49 Franklin E. Smith 1949-50 Franklin E. Smith 1950-58 Leo C. Blackburn 1958-61 Franklin E. Smith 1961-62 Harold D. Schneider 1962 Merrill L. Rowe 1962 Merrill L. Rowe 1962-73

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/ofc/portsmouth.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]