The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Mayors and Postmasters of Marietta, Ohio

Mayors of Marietta, 1856-1954 (may be incomplete!)
William Augustus Whittlesey as of 1856 William Augustus Whittlesey as of 1860 William Augustus Whittlesey as of 1862 J. Morton Hooper as of 1937 Percy W. Griffiths as of 1938-39 Gerald E. Broughton as of 1953 Benjamin B. Cain as of 1954

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1949 Nov 8: Joe C. Hartline (Rep), elected.

    Postmasters at Marietta, 1794-1972 (may be incomplete!)
    Return J. Meigs, Jr. 1794-95 Josiah Munroe 1795-1801 David Putman 1801 Griffin Green 1801-04 Philip Green 1804-07 Griffin Green 1807-15 Samuel Holt 1815-18 Henry P. Willcox 1818-25 Daniel H. Buell 1825-29 Aaron V. D. Joline 1829-41 Abner L. Guitteau 1841-47 Frederick A. Wheeler 1847-53 Nathaniel Bishop 1853-57 Andrew W. McCormick 1857-61 Sala Bosworth 1861-66 William C. Buck 1866-67 Sala Bosworth 1867-70 William B. Mason 1870-78 Samuel L. Grosvenor 1878-86 Dudley S. Nye 1886-90 Eli R. Alderman 1890-94 Henry Roeser 1894-98 Manning M. Rose 1898-1911 Alva D. Alderman 1911-12 Gamaliel J. Lund 1912 Charles A. Ward 1912-16 Frank G. Henry 1916-22 John M. Doan 1922-25 Asa D. McCoy 1925-26 Asa D. McCoy 1926-34 Frank J. McCauley 1934-49 Dennis E. Hurst 1949-50 Dennis E. Hurst 1950-72

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 312,576 politicians, living and dead.
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/ofc/marietta.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
      More information: FAQ; privacy policy; cemetery links.  
      If you find any error or omission in The Political Graveyard, or if you have information to share, please see the biographical checklist and submission guidelines.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2019 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 10, 2021.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]