The Political Graveyard: A Database of American History
Delaware, Ohio
Mayors, Postmasters, U.S. Land Office officials

Mayors of Delaware, 1857-2010 (may be incomplete!)
Charles Henry McElroy 1857-58 James A. Barnes 1859 John S. Jones as of 1866 Archibald Lybrand 1869-71 John D. VanDeman 1872-74 William Oliver Semans 1874-76 James A. Barnes 1876-78 Charles Henry McElroy 1878-80 Frederick Merrick Joy 1880-82 H. L. Baker 1882-85 Henry S. Culver 1890-94 H. L. Baker 1894-96 Wilfried Renaldo Carpenter 1896-98 John McClure 1898-1902 Henry C. Clippinger 1902-06 H. H. Beecher 1906-08 William E. Haas 1908-12 Bert V. Leas 1912-14 John Louis Anderson 1914-16 Arthur James White 1916-20 Walter Samuel Pollock 1920-24 Howard Rezen Pumphrey 1924-28 Fred C. Johnson 1928-34 Veley Mann 1934 Sidney Archie Rowland 1934-38 Hosea A. Spaulding 1938-40 Paul B. White 1940-42 Hosea A. Spaulding 1942-44 Patrick Joseph Foley 1944-48 Ansel Lockhart 1948-52 Murton F. Pinney 1952-54 Paul B. White 1954-56 Edward Flahive 1956-57 Paul B. White 1958-59 Henry Wolf 1959-61 Paul B. White 1961-63 Donald Mathews 1963-65 Robert Ray Newhouse 1965-69 Gilford E. Easterday 1969-71 John Jeisel III 1971-73 Gilford E. Easterday 1973-77 Donald Wuertz 1978-81 Donald Worly 1982-83 Michael Shade 1984-85 Donald Wuertz 1986-89 Michael Shade 1990-93 Dennis Davis 1994-95 Juliann Secrest 1996-99 Tommy W. Thompson 2000-02 Wendell Wheeler 2002-09 Gary Milner 2010-

Events and Candidates (may be incomplete!)

  • 1933 Nov 7: Veley Mann (Dem), elected.
  • 1934: Veley Mann, resigned.

    Postmasters at Delaware, 1816-1901 (may be incomplete!)
    Leonard H. Coles as of 1816 D. A. Stark as of 1887 R. J. Cox as of 1901

    Registers of U.S. Land Office at Delaware, 1821-27 (may be incomplete!)
    Platt Brush as of 1821-27

  • "Enjoy the hospitable entertainment of a political graveyard."
    Henry L. Clinton, Apollo Hall, New York City, February 3, 1872
    The Political Graveyard

    The Political Graveyard is a web site about U.S. political history and cemeteries. Founded in 1996, it is the Internet's most comprehensive free source for American political biography, listing 320,919 politicians, living and dead.
      The coverage of this site includes (1) the President, Vice President, members of Congress, elected state and territorial officeholders in all fifty states, the District of Columbia, and U.S. territories; and the chief elected official, typically the mayor, of qualifying municipalities; (2) candidates at election, including primaries, for any of the above; (3) all federal judges and all state appellate judges; (4) certain federal officials, including the federal cabinet, diplomatic chiefs of mission, consuls, U.S. district attorneys, collectors of customs and internal revenue, members of major federal commissions; and political appointee (pre-1969) postmasters of qualifying communities; (5) state and national political party officials, including delegates, alternate delegates, and other participants in national party nominating conventions; (6) Americans who served as "honorary" consuls for other nations before 1950. Note: municipalities or communities "qualify", for Political Graveyard purposes, if they have at least half a million person-years of history, inclusive of predecessor, successor, and merged entities.  
      The listings are incomplete; development of the database is a continually ongoing project.  
      Information on this page — and on all other pages of this site — is believed to be accurate, but is not guaranteed. Users are advised to check with other sources before relying on any information here.  
      The official URL for this page is: https://politicalgraveyard.com/geo/OH/ofc/delaware.html .  
      Links to this or any other Political Graveyard page are welcome, but specific page addresses may sometimes change as the site develops.  
      If you are searching for a specific named individual, try the alphabetical index of politicians.  
    Copyright notices: (1) Facts are not subject to copyright; see Feist v. Rural Telephone. (2) Politician portraits displayed on this site are 70-pixel-wide monochrome thumbnail images, which I believe to constitute fair use under applicable copyright law. Where possible, each image is linked to its online source. However, requests from owners of copyrighted images to delete them from this site are honored. (3) Original material, programming, selection and arrangement are © 1996-2023 Lawrence Kestenbaum. (4) This work is also licensed for free non-commercial re-use, with attribution, under a Creative Commons License.
    Site information: The Political Graveyard is created and maintained by Lawrence Kestenbaum, who is solely responsible for its structure and content. — The mailing address is The Political Graveyard, P.O. Box 2563, Ann Arbor MI 48106. — This site is hosted by HDL. — The Political Graveyard opened on July 1, 1996; the last full revision was done on March 8, 2023.

Commons License Follow polgraveyard on Twitter [Amazon.com]